View Full Version : Javascript timeout mouseover

xtree
12-13-2010, 06:52 PM
I am a Javascript novice so please bear with me here. I made a multi level menu at http://x7.ro/proiect/produse.html -first left menu item:Raticide- by using Javascript and css. What this should do is show the sub-menu on mouseover and hide it on mouseout WITH a custom delay so people have a chance to click menu items. This seems to work except for the all needed delay. I was trying to use javascript setTimeout function but I cannot seem to make it work. Think this should be easy for a pro and Id remain indebted if any of you could help. Thanks a lot.

Below is the working code:JS and Html.

<SCRIPT type=text/javascript>
function showElement(layer){
var myLayer = document.getElementById(layer);
if(myLayer.style.display=="none"){
myLayer.style.display="block";
myLayer.backgroundPosition="top";
} else {
myLayer.style.display="none";
}
}
function hideElement(layer){
var myLayer = document.getElementById(layer);
if(myLayer.style.display=="block"){
myLayer.style.display="none";
myLayer.backgroundPosition="top";
} else {
myLayer.style.display="block";
}
}
</SCRIPT>

<A class=button onMouseOver="javascript:showElement('v-menu');return false;" onMouseOut="javascript:hideElement('v-menu');return false;" href="#"><SPAN>Raticide</SPAN></A>
<UL style="DISPLAY: none" id=v-menu class=v-menu>
<LI><A href="aaa.html">PRODIORAT</A></LI>
<LI><A href="aaa.html"> PROBRODIRAT</A></LI></UL>

Philip M
12-13-2010, 07:38 PM
<A class=button onMouseOver="setTimeout(\"showElement('v-menu')\",5000); return false"; onMouseOut="setTimeout(\"hideElement('v-menu')\", 5000); return false"; href="#"><SPAN>Raticide</SPAN></A>

5000 = 5000 milliseconds = 5 seconds.

All advice is supplied packaged by intellectual weight, and not by volume. Contents may settle slightly in transit.

xtree
12-13-2010, 08:40 PM
It doesnt do it for me. The 'Raticide' remains frozen with that code (does nothing on either mouse event). Thanks tho.