...

View Full Version : Page result after submitting form opening in new window



onoffpaul
12-12-2010, 11:38 PM
Hi,

I am using Javascript to display options in a form with 2 dropdown lists. However, despite using the target='_self', the result opens in a new window. Help would be much appreciated.



// JavaScript Document
function setOptions(chosen) {
var selbox = document.ChronoContact_course_finder.opttwo;

selbox.options.length = 0;
if (chosen == ' ') {
selbox.options[selbox.options.length] = new Option('Choose Option',' ');

}
if (chosen == '85') {
selbox.options[selbox.options.length] = new Option('ITEC Beauty Specialist Diploma','index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=49&Itemid=68',target='_self');
selbox.options[selbox.options.length] = new Option('ITEC Professional Makeup','index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=57&Itemid=76',target='_self');
selbox.options[selbox.options.length] = new Option('Fashion Catwalk & Photographic Makeup Course','index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=67&Itemid=91',target='_self');
selbox.options[selbox.options.length] = new Option('Bridal Makeup Course','index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=68&Itemid=92',target='_self');
selbox.options[selbox.options.length] = new Option('Special Effects Makeup','index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=56&Itemid=77',target='_self');
selbox.options[selbox.options.length] = new Option('Gel Nails Course','index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=65&Itemid=88',target='_self');
selbox.options[selbox.options.length] = new Option('Acrylic Nails Course','index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=66&Itemid=89',target='_self');
selbox.options[selbox.options.length] = new Option('Spray Tanning Course','index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=55&Itemid=73',target='_self');
}
if (chosen == '69') {
selbox.options[selbox.options.length] = new Option('ITEC Holistic Massage Course','index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=51&Itemid=2',target='_self');
selbox.options[selbox.options.length] = new Option('ITEC Sports Massage Diploma','index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=59&Itemid=78',target='_self');
selbox.options[selbox.options.length] = new Option('Indian Head Massage Course','index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=60&Itemid=79',target='_self');
selbox.options[selbox.options.length] = new Option('ITEC Reflexology Diploma','index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=64&Itemid=87',target='_self');
}
if (chosen == '80') {
selbox.options[selbox.options.length] = new Option('ITEC Teaching Diploma','index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=61&Itemid=81',target='_self');
selbox.options[selbox.options.length] = new Option('FETAC Train The Trainer Level 6','index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=63&Itemid=86',target='_self');
}
if (chosen == '83') {
selbox.options[selbox.options.length] = new Option('ITEC Sports Massage Diploma','index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=59&Itemid=90',target='_self');

}
}


And the HTML...



<div class="form_item">
<div class="form_element cf_heading">
<h1 class="cf_text">course finder</h1>
</div>
<div class="cfclear">&nbsp;</div>
</div>

<div class="form_item">
<div class="form_element cf_dropdown">
<label class="cf_label" style="width: 200px;">Step 1: Choose type of course</label>
<select name="optone" class="cf_inputbox" size="1" onchange="setOptions(document.ChronoContact_course_finder.optone.options[document.ChronoContact_course_finder.optone.selectedIndex].value);">
<option value=" " selected="selected">Choose Option</option>
<option value="85">Beauty courses</option>
<option value="69">Complimentary courses</option>
<option value="80">Teaching courses</option>
<option value="83">Fitness courses</option>

</select>

</div>
<div class="cfclear">&nbsp;</div>
</div>

<div class="form_item">
<div class="form_element cf_dropdown">
<label class="cf_label" style="width: 200px;">Step 2: Choose a subject</label>
<select size="1" name="opttwo" class="cf_inputbox" >
<option value=" " selected="selected">Choose Option</option>

</select>
<!--<input type="button" name="go" value="Value Selected" onclick="window.open(document.ChronoContact_course_finder.opttwo.options[document.ChronoContact_course_finder.opttwo.selectedIndex].value);">-->
</div>
<div class="cfclear">&nbsp;</div>
</div>

<div class="form_item">
<div class="form_element cf_button">
<input type="submit" name="go" value="search" onclick="window.open(document.ChronoContact_course_finder.opttwo.options[document.ChronoContact_course_finder.opttwo.selectedIndex].value);">
</div>
<div class="cfclear">&nbsp;</div>

</div>




Many thanks,
Paul

Old Pedant
12-13-2010, 01:32 AM
You can't add a target to an <option>!!!

You can only add a target to a <form> or <a> or <area> tag.

You can also *specify* a target in window.open(), but that's certainly got nothing (directly) to do with the <option>.

onoffpaul
12-13-2010, 04:03 PM
This is a form within Joomla so I'm not able to edit the form tag. Is there an alternative way to target the same window?

Many thanks,
Paul



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum