...

View Full Version : Home page content



marko3333
12-10-2010, 07:28 PM
Hi,

There is something wrong with the home page. I can only write Posts on the home page. With my theme there is a section for the home page which has a slideshow of the posts and then below there is a section for writing home page custom content. When I write something and save it, it doesn't show up on the webpage. If anyone has any ideas, that would be great.

http://www.pokerpouch.com

Here is the home.php

<?php
global $shortname;

$number_posts = (get_option('posts_per_page')) ? get_option('posts_per_page') : 6;

$paged = (get_query_var('paged')) ? get_query_var('paged') : 1;

if (is_active_widget('widget_myFeature')) {
$category = "showposts=$posts&cat=-".$options['category'];
} else {
$category = "showposts=".$posts;
}
query_posts($category."&paged=$paged&showposts=$number_posts");

get_header();

//Featured Content Gallery section on the homepage
if (is_home() && !isset($_GET['paged'])) :?>
<?php if(function_exists('gallery_styles')) :?>
<div id="fcg-slides">
<?php include (ABSPATH . '/wp-content/plugins/featured-content-gallery/gallery.php'); ?>
</div>
<?php elseif(isset($_GET['preview']) && isset($_GET['template'])):?>
<div id="fcg-slides">
<img src="<?php bloginfo('template_url')?>/images/fcg-feature-demo.jpg" alt="Plugin Demo" />
</div>
<?php endif;?>
<?php endif; ?>

<?php if (have_posts()) : ?>
<?php
$i = 0;
while (have_posts()) {
the_post();
include(dirname(__FILE__).'/post.php');

//Insert custom content between posts
if ($html = get_option($shortname.'_custom_html_'.$i)) {
echo "<div class='customhtml'>$html</div>";
}
$i++;
}
?>
<?php endif; ?>

<div class="navigation">
<p class="alignleft"><?php previous_posts_link('Latest posts'); ?></p>
<p class="alignright"><?php next_posts_link('Older posts'); ?></p>
</div>

<?php get_footer(); ?>

renegadeandy
12-10-2010, 09:28 PM
Is this possibly just a setting you can change in the WordPress admin panel?!

If allow custom content is enabled (if there is a setting)

perhaps it while loop is not being executed i.e getPosts() is returning 0?

marko3333
12-10-2010, 11:21 PM
Hi,

thanks for the response, the only way that I can write something on the home page custom content is if I have a post first. I don't want to have any posts on the home page. Its kind of a weird set-up... Is there any way that I can change this?
Thanks for your help

Mark

renegadeandy
12-10-2010, 11:51 PM
Yeah there is!!!

the bit of code you care about is this bit:



<?php if (have_posts()) : ?>
<?php
$i = 0;
while (have_posts()) {
the_post();
include(dirname(__FILE__).'/post.php');

//Insert custom content between posts
if ($html = get_option($shortname.'_custom_html_'.$i)) {
echo "<div class='customhtml'>$html</div>";
}
$i++;
}
?>
<?php endif; ?>


So what that is saying is - :

If we have posts

--for each post that we do have insert some custom content + continue as we were!
If you wanted a bit of custom code on EVERY home page regardless of the number of posts you have you could just add this bit of code above the coded section I pasted above :




<?php echo "<h2>Demo custom content</h2>" ?>



so your total code would look
something like this:



<?php
global $shortname;

$number_posts = (get_option('posts_per_page')) ? get_option('posts_per_page') : 6;

$paged = (get_query_var('paged')) ? get_query_var('paged') : 1;

if (is_active_widget('widget_myFeature')) {
$category = "showposts=$posts&cat=-".$options['category'];
} else {
$category = "showposts=".$posts;
}
query_posts($category."&paged=$paged&showposts=$number_posts");

get_header();

//Featured Content Gallery section on the homepage
if (is_home() && !isset($_GET['paged'])) :?>
<?php echo "<h2>Demo custom content</h2>"; ?>
<?php if(function_exists('gallery_styles')) :?>
<div id="fcg-slides">
<?php include (ABSPATH . '/wp-content/plugins/featured-content-gallery/gallery.php'); ?>
</div>
<?php elseif(isset($_GET['preview']) && isset($_GET['template'])):?>
<div id="fcg-slides">
<img src="<?php bloginfo('template_url')?>/images/fcg-feature-demo.jpg" alt="Plugin Demo" />
</div>
<?php endif;?>
<?php endif; ?>

<?php if (have_posts()) : ?>
<?php
$i = 0;
while (have_posts()) {
the_post();
include(dirname(__FILE__).'/post.php');

//Insert custom content between posts
if ($html = get_option($shortname.'_custom_html_'.$i)) {
echo "<div class='customhtml'>$html</div>";
}
$i++;
}
?>
<?php endif; ?>

<div class="navigation">
<p class="alignleft"><?php previous_posts_link('Latest posts'); ?></p>
<p class="alignright"><?php next_posts_link('Older posts'); ?></p>
</div>

<?php get_footer(); ?>


Now that may need some changes - because I couldnt check the code + try running it because obviously I dont have access to your setup!

Hope this helps.

marko3333
12-11-2010, 01:48 AM
Hi,

Thanks for the help, I put the code in and on the home page says "Demo custom content" above the slide. I checked to see if I could write anything and it still doesn't work. Do you have any other suggestions? thanks again for the help

Mark



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum