PDA

View Full Version : messy code please help



jarv
12-06-2010, 12:10 PM
I think I'm nearly there, I just want to display a drop down list



<ul>
<li><form name="form3" method="post" action="">
<select name="menu2" onChange="MM_jumpMenu('parent',this,0)" class="textbox">
<option value="">Please choose a town!</option>
<?php while($row = mysql_fetch_array($result))
{
echo '<option value=\"pub_info.php?rsTown='.row['rsTown'].'\">';
echo ''.row['rsTown'].'&nbsp;('.$total_pages.')</option>';
}
echo '</select>';
echo '</form>';
?>
</li>
</ul>


my error lies on line 465 which is this bit:
echo '<option value=\"pub_info.php?rsTown='.row['rsTown'].'\">';
echo ''.row['rsTown'].'&nbsp;('.$total_pages.')</option>';


but I think my code is just a mess?! what do you think?

mlseim
12-06-2010, 12:23 PM
echo "<option value=\"pub_info.php?rsTown={$row['rsTown']}\">{$row['rsTown']} &nbsp;({$total_pages})</option>";

sitNsmile
12-06-2010, 12:31 PM
You forgot the "$" before row. ($row = variable). That's all you need to change :)


echo '<option value=\"pub_info.php?rsTown='.$row['rsTown'].'\">';
echo ''.$row['rsTown'].'&nbsp;('.$total_pages.')</option>';

syncupsolutions
12-06-2010, 12:48 PM
I think I'm nearly there, I just want to display a drop down list



<ul>
<li><form name="form3" method="post" action="">
<select name="menu2" onChange="MM_jumpMenu('parent',this,0)" class="textbox">
<option value="">Please choose a town!</option>
<?php while($row = mysql_fetch_array($result))
{
echo '<option value=\"pub_info.php?rsTown='.row['rsTown'].'\">';
echo ''.row['rsTown'].'&nbsp;('.$total_pages.')</option>';
}
echo '</select>';
echo '</form>';
?>
</li>
</ul>


my error lies on line 465 which is this bit:
echo '<option value=\"pub_info.php?rsTown='.row['rsTown'].'\">';
echo ''.row['rsTown'].'&nbsp;('.$total_pages.')</option>';


but I think my code is just a mess?! what do you think?


Theres no need to escape " inside of a query wrapped in single quotes.


echo '<option value="pub_info.php?rsTown='.row["rsTown"].'">';
echo $row['rsTown'] . '&nbsp;(' .$total_pages. ')</option>';

mlseim
12-06-2010, 07:46 PM
I did the "escaped quotes" so that when he views the HTML, it will look
the same as the rest of his form tags. Merely for visual appeal.