...

View Full Version : Strange behaviour in window.prompt()



Alex10
12-06-2010, 11:52 AM
Dear all

I have been working with with window.promt() and i noticed a weird behaviour.

In some cases (i do not known why) my prompt cannot get over a certain limit of characters. But in some other cases it can get as many characters as i want.

Anyone know about this?

Thanks
Alex

Philip M
12-06-2010, 12:15 PM
Show us examples.

There is a limit of 2048 characters but if you expect a response of that many characters a prompt box dialog is not the way to get the input data.

It is your responsibility to die() if necessary….. - PHP Manual

Alex10
12-06-2010, 12:21 PM
Tnx for the response.

The strange thing is that i can enter only 90 characters.

Any other idea for getting input data whould be great.

Tnx

Alex

Philip M
12-06-2010, 12:32 PM
The strange thing is that i can enter only 90 characters.


Example? Which browser?
For data input you should use a form with textboxes or textareas.

Alex10
12-06-2010, 12:37 PM
I use Titanium Developer framework to create an application.

So i do not need to use any forms. It s just like procedural programming. The dialog box appears when the user wants to enter some value that will be used in further actions.

I think Titanium is using Chrome as a browser engine but not so sure. Maybe this is a titanium's feature, although i couldnt find anything related to this in Titatium's forums.

Thanks again.

Kor
12-06-2010, 03:50 PM
I use Titanium Developer framework to create an application.
It has no relevance which tool do you use. When you say something does not work, you must have tested in a browser, right? So:

Show us the code and tell us in which browser does not work.

Alex10
12-06-2010, 04:25 PM
function getURL(){
var URL = window.prompt("Enter a web service's URL", "");
openURL(URL);
}

This is the code. The prompt dialog box appears normally on the screen. But it can only accept 90 characters. So if a URL is less than that it cuts its suffix.

The right answer for the browser that i used is Google Chrome. Because this is really a desktop application. I wrote javascript and i wrapped it with Titanium Developer Framework. Thus, i run it as an .exe file but behind that is actually Google Chrome.

Tnx

Kor
12-07-2010, 09:56 AM
It works for me in Chrome 8/Win7 (and in all the browsers I have). Nor should be otherwise



<script type="text/javascript">
function getURL(){
var URL = window.prompt("Enter a web service's URL", "");
location.href=URL;
}

And I have entered the string: "1234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678901234567890123456789012345678-91"
It works without problem, as it should. I could have probably used up to 16000 characters, and safety up to 2000. But the maximum length of a valid URL is up to server, as well. I guess that your server is instructed to not accept more than 90 characters. By the way, how does that over 90 URL looks like?



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum