View Full Version : re

quartzy
11-18-2010, 04:31 AM
I need a login box that will make a password protected area, how do I do this? I have been looking on the web but have found nothing. Like can the box link to another webpage? And how will the box know if it is the right password? Do I need a script for this?

teedoff
11-18-2010, 04:44 AM
you need to use server side and a database.

Also, re for your thread title tells nothing about your problem.

quartzy
11-18-2010, 04:38 PM
Yes it was an error that I entered re:
So I need to use serverside and a database, why do I need a database? And do you know where can I learn about them, I have never done databases on the web before.

teedoff
11-18-2010, 05:06 PM
Well there may be other ways to "store" a username and password, but databases are for just that purpose.

Is this going to be for a back room admin section? or for site users to register and login to the public section of your site?

quartzy
11-18-2010, 05:29 PM
It is a main website with a linked page for members only (certain professionals) to access images, so they need a login form which then directs them to the pages of images. So I think it is a back room section.

teedoff
11-18-2010, 05:46 PM
It is a main website with a linked page for members only (certain professionals) to access images, so they need a login form which then directs them to the pages of images. So I think it is a back room section.

Well it would be very simple to create a small "members" table in Mysql first. Then you could create a login form, which is just a standard html form, that compares the user's login to their username and password info with a simple query. This is the basics of what you would need. You could get a bit more complicated, but thats for another post.

quartzy
11-18-2010, 05:52 PM
Could I put a mySQL on this as I dont have a apache server I have a windows server.