View Full Version : Changing TD vertical size

rfresh
11-15-2010, 04:11 AM
I need to increase the vertical size of a TD tag. How can I do this? I need to make it about 4 times as tall as a default TD tag.

Thanks

teedoff
11-15-2010, 04:37 AM
You mean rowspan="2"?? That merges one row with the next row.

rfresh
11-15-2010, 05:23 AM
Not sure that would work. See attached image and you can see that I need to increase a row's height to accomadate some vertical text I'm laying down.

Chris Hick
11-15-2010, 05:30 AM
Have you tried giving your td an id?

<table id="great">
<tr>
<td id="grand1">&nbsp;</td>
<td id="grand2">&nbsp;</td>
<td id="grand3">&nbsp;</td>
</tr>
</table>

rfresh
11-15-2010, 05:39 AM
I don't understand what an ID would do to the height of a TD tag?

Chris Hick
11-15-2010, 05:40 AM
Do you know anything about css?

rfresh
11-15-2010, 06:20 AM
I'm pretty new to CSS.

Chris Hick
11-15-2010, 06:35 AM
Ah I see.. well then I suggest going to learn some at http://www.w3schools.com/css/
:thumbsup:

rfresh
11-15-2010, 06:46 AM
Wow...you could give that answer to everyone instead of trying to actually help them.

To anyone else who wouldn't mind helping me, I'll repeat my question: I don't understand what an ID would do to the height of a TD tag? I'm asking about what attribute? I can setup the id but I don't know what attribute to use.

Chris Hick
11-15-2010, 07:20 AM
-_- No sense in being rude. You might want to reread the rules: [url]http://www.codingforums.com/rules.htm[/code]

The id is for CSS. In other words, in your style tags in css you would put the height attribute to the id thus to the td.
If you are going to use just html, I suppose putting the height=" " attribute within the td tag would do. Although, I highly suggest not doing that and learning some CSS.:thumbsup:

Stubworth
11-16-2010, 01:19 AM
Hi rfresh,

Here's what you can try. Pop this code in your header:

<style type="text/css">

#specificrowheight
{
height:50px;
}

</style>