...

View Full Version : Overriding frameset



Krashsite
11-10-2010, 04:31 AM
I have a menubar across the top of a page in a separate frame. Content loads into main frame below it. I'm adding an onClick menu option that I'd like to open in the same, full window, without the menubar frame on top. Any way to do this?

Thx.

Philip M
11-10-2010, 09:39 AM
Try this:-


<body onload = "fullscreen()">

<script type = "text/javascript">
function fullscreen() {
Width=screen.availWidth;
Height=screen.availHeight;
window.open('myPage.html', '',
'toolbar=no,location=no,directories=no,status=no,menubar=no,'+
'scrollbars=1,resizable=no,copyhistory=1,width='+Width+','+
'height='+Height+',top=0,left=0','replace');
}
</script>

We went to university together, but not at the same time. - Keith Vaz MP

Krashsite
11-10-2010, 07:21 PM
Won't have time to try til tonight, but just eyeballing it quickly, looks like it opens a new window, which is not what I want to do. I'd like the link from the menu bar to open the new page in the same window, without the frameset.

Philip M
11-10-2010, 08:22 PM
The second parameter of window.open() is a string representing the name of the target window. Set it to: "_self".

Krashsite
11-11-2010, 01:38 AM
That's the problem. If I point it to _self, it opens the new page in the top menu frame (30px height). I can load the new page into either of the two frames, but can't open it into the same window without frames. That's what I'm trying to do, eliminate the frameset when the new page loads.

Old Pedant
11-11-2010, 02:16 AM
Set it to _top.

Indeed _self does mean that same thing that self. means in JS coding.

Krashsite
11-11-2010, 04:00 AM
Well bugger me with a fishfork. http://www.thekrashsite.com/annex/forum/eek.gif

It works. I had tried targeting _top, but with different syntax (target="_top", if iirc), and it didn't work, but I'm using...



<input type="button" style="width:60px; margin-top:5px; font-size:8pt; color:#99ff00; background:#282874" value="Forum" onClick="window.open('/smfannex/','_top');">


...and it does exactly what I wanted.

Thanks, OP! http://www.thekrashsite.com/annex/forum/thu.gif

glenngv
11-11-2010, 10:21 AM
Alternative solution:

onclick="top.location.href='/smfannex/';"



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum