...

View Full Version : Jquery logic help please!



1337hovie
10-01-2010, 06:04 PM
Very new to jquery, i have a dropdown that changes what DIV's to show. but my problem is that the dropdowns will retain their value as i switch between divs. trying to clear values when the dropdown changes.

change divs onchage:

$(document).ready(function(){
$('#3_form').hide();
$('#4_form').hide();
$('#axd_form').hide();
$('#ht_form').hide();
$("#thechoices").change(function(){
if(this.value == 'all')
{$("#boxes").children().show();}
else
{$("#" + this.value).show().siblings().hide();}
});

$("#thechoices").change();
});


This is what i have so far, i just need to check if the dropdown has been changed:

$.fn.clearForm = function() {
return this.each(function() {
var type = this.type, tag = this.tagName.toLowerCase();
if (tag == 'form')
return $(':input',this).clearForm();
if (type == 'text' || type == 'password' || tag == 'textarea')
this.value = '';
else if (type == 'checkbox' || type == 'radio')
this.checked = false;
else if (tag == 'select')
this.selectedIndex = -1;
});
};

$(document).ready(function(){
function clearFields() {
// if ..check dropdown
$('.form3').clearForm();
// else if dropdown value
$('.form4').clearForm();//clear these fields
}

});

If you select form4, clear the other 2, same for other forms. OR just clear all div's (not entire form!) anything its changed. As long as these div's change, and rest of my form doesnt.

Advice, tutorials, suggestions, code snippets, ANYTHING WILL HELP!

Thanks again,
JT

Philip M
10-01-2010, 06:08 PM
You would do better to post this in the jQuery section of the forum. Ask a mod to move you over.

But if you run all your code together on one line it is very hard to read and a lot of people may not bother.

1337hovie
10-01-2010, 06:09 PM
You would do better to post this in the jQuery section of the forum. Ask a mod to move you over.

But if you run all your code together on one line it is very hard to read and a lot of people may not bother.

Great point, thank you

I thought i was in the proper section, Yeah if someone can move this post - that'd be great. (i did a search for jquery on the main page, too - didnt see a jquery section).

is there a better tag? other than [code]?

Philip M
10-01-2010, 06:23 PM
Great point, thank you

I thought i was in the proper section, Yeah if someone can move this post - that'd be great. (i did a search for jquery on the main page, too - didnt see a jquery section).

is there a better tag? other than [code]?

Javascript Frameworks - Use this forum to get help on one of the popular JS frameworks, such as Prototype, jQuery, YUI etc.

You have put your code in quotes. You should use code and /code tags (in square brackets). Use the octothorpe # button on the toolbar.

Ask a mod (nicely) to move the post. It could be quite a time before one passes by this thread casually. You will find them listed at the bottom of the page.

1337hovie
10-01-2010, 06:35 PM
Javascript Frameworks - Use this forum to get help on one of the popular JS frameworks, such as Prototype, jQuery, YUI etc.

You have put your code in quotes. You should use code and /code tags (in square brackets). Use the octothorpe # button on the toolbar.

Ask a mod (nicely) to move the post. It could be quite a time before one passes by this thread casually. You will find them listed at the bottom of the page.
Ok great thank you, i just Pm'd one. Hopefully he'll take care of it.

I do appreciate your time,
you wouldnt happen to know anything about jquery would ya? :P

seems like a simple request, to just add the logic into the JS. Totally new to jquery, at the mercy of kind forum communities!

Happy friday everybody!
Please help! :P

Jt

harbingerOTV
10-01-2010, 07:38 PM
Can you post the HTML of the form?



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum