...

View Full Version : Odd JQuery SimpleSli.de Problem



jgroebuck
09-10-2010, 12:15 PM
Hi,

First of all, please excuse my ignorance of JQuery(and coding in general) - Although I hastily grab plugins and try to use them, I really do appreciate them, and also the help you may provide me with my problem!

My problem is this - I was looking for a simple and effective slideshow to use in a website I was making. SimpleSli.de(http://www.simplesli.de/) was exactly what I was looking for. It works great when it works but sometimes when I load the page it kind of doesn't work. I don't know what is going on but only approximately 50 pixels of the slideshow is visible. This happens sporadically when you refresh the page multiple times, and seems to not work more often on Google Chrome.

I've eliminated every possible wrong doing in my code and tried installing firebug to help me identify the problem but for now this is beyond my understanding. JS Lint also purged errors in the code but still the same intermittent problem.

I tried to contact David Drew - the creator of SimpleSli.de but he has not responded to me.

On top of this I was trying to Auto Play the slideshow on load but could not get this to work. The code for it is available on the SimpleSli.de website but I tried to implement it in every possible way but it did not work. This problem is secondary and not really a proper problem so no worries if you can't help me on this one.

The website in question is http://www.argsecurityscotland.co.uk/

Thank you in advance for your time and expertise, I really appreciate it.

Sciliano
09-10-2010, 12:44 PM
See:

http://www.dynamicdrive.com/forums/showthread.php?t=55785

or:

http://www.javascript-demos.com/Bi-Direction_Demo.html

jgroebuck
09-10-2010, 03:13 PM
Thanks, Sciliano. I'll give them a try.

kiske9
11-12-2010, 06:14 PM
Hi guys!

I use the simpleSli, and I tried to contact David Drew too. No response!
Have you solved your problem?
I try your site in Chrome (ver. 7.0) and it looks fine.

My problem is about using the status pane. I don't know how to add it.
Could you help me?

dclowd9901
12-11-2010, 09:38 PM
Hey Kiske,

I'm David, and wrote SS. I'm sorry for not responding to your e-mail. Can I help you out with something?

johnalpi
06-03-2011, 01:51 AM
Hi David,
I'm having trouble with the slider. The images are staked up on each other..

Here's what I've got:

In the <head> of my document:


<script type="text/javascript" src="js/simpleslide.js"></script>

in the HTML Page where I want the slider to display:


<div class="simpleSlide-window" rel="group_name">
<div class="simpleSlide-tray" rel="group_name">
<div class="simpleSlide-slide" rel="group_name">
<img src="images/slide-1.jpg">
<img src="images/slide-2.jpg">
<img src="images/slide-3.jpg">
<img src="images/slide-4.jpg">
</div>
</div>
</div>

The .js file is as is from your website

Thanks for any help
John

Fever
11-18-2011, 04:42 AM
You didn't include the jquery.js into the head.. you have to include that.

I can't get the autoslide working... its driving me nuts, has anybody gotten the autoslide function to work?

Fever



Hi David,
I'm having trouble with the slider. The images are staked up on each other..

Here's what I've got:

In the <head> of my document:


<script type="text/javascript" src="js/simpleslide.js"></script>

in the HTML Page where I want the slider to display:


<div class="simpleSlide-window" rel="group_name">
<div class="simpleSlide-tray" rel="group_name">
<div class="simpleSlide-slide" rel="group_name">
<img src="images/slide-1.jpg">
<img src="images/slide-2.jpg">
<img src="images/slide-3.jpg">
<img src="images/slide-4.jpg">
</div>
</div>
</div>

The .js file is as is from your website

Thanks for any help
John



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum