View Full Version : Help Needed with Javascript Code

Johnb21
09-02-2010, 02:11 AM
I am still learning javascript so forgive me if this question is a bad one, I am making scripts for Greasemonkey for a website I am a part of. One of the developers recently commented out (in the source code) a feature that was available before. It is a Football MMORPG game and it used to show college players 40 times but over the past month he commented out the tag that held the script function. I want to know if i can either

A) write a js code that can remove the comment tag in the source code

or

B) write a code that will just add another tag under that and have that js function that was commented out valid.

I tried something but ended up just having that function pasted onto the page instead of having it put into the source to have it read by the rest of the data.. here is what im talking about

<TABLE width=800 cellspacing=0>
<tr>
<td colspan=3 style="FONT-SIZE: 11pt">
<b>Hometown:</b>Fort Hunt,&nbsp;VA<br>
<b>Height:</b>6-0<br>

<b>Weight:</b>206<br>
<!--b>40 Time:</b><if rs("team_id")>0 or bRated then><=formatnumber(rs("forty"),2)><br><end if -->

i just want to see if there was any way to just delete the comment out of it so i can get this feature again is all. Any help would be awesome... and sorry for the long post

DaveyErwin
09-02-2010, 02:38 AM

or

B) write a code that will just add another tag under that and have that js function that was commented out valid.

Maybe just add the commented out javascript code to the html file.

Old Pedant
09-02-2010, 02:41 AM
??? That doesn't look like JavaScript. It looks like VBScript code. Are you sure it's not server-side code?? Or is that normal for GreaseMonkey??

ANYWAY...

We could simply clone that line, removing the comments in the process. But since it's not pure HTML and it's not valid JavaScript, I have no idea what the effect of doing so might be.