PDA

View Full Version : IFrame



The Wizzard
07-15-2002, 05:36 PM
Hi, i have a search box in an iframe on my main page, and when you type in a keyword and press submit, its results are inside the iframe, how do i get them to not load in the frame?

boxer_1
07-15-2002, 06:00 PM
This should open the link you have in the iframe in the window containing the iframe:

<a href="http://www.whatever.html" target="_parent">Open link in current window</a>

To open the link in a new window:

<a href="http://www.whatever.html" target="_blank">Open link in current window</a>

Does this help you out?

The Wizzard
07-15-2002, 06:21 PM
Those didnt work, but i did figure it out.. Its target="_top"

:thumbsup:

boxer_1
07-15-2002, 06:25 PM
Originally posted by The Wizzard
Those didnt work, but i did figure it out.. Its target="_top"

:thumbsup:

Hmm...well at least your dillema is solved :thumbsup: . These are the target attributes as I've undestood them:

_blank = targets a new blank window that is not named

_self = targets the frame where the hyperlink is found

_parent = targets the parent frameset of the frame where the hyperlink is found.
Defualts to _self value if no parent document is found

_top = targets full window before any frames are introduced.