...

View Full Version : Modal Window Help



m002.p
06-18-2010, 11:40 AM
Hi all!

I am struggling with getting a modal window to launch.

The two problems I experience are as follows:

1) Images do not display in IE within the hidden <div> tags. (This I tested on another page less complicated. Click the "donate" button on this page using IE and firefox to see what I mean... http://www.clanreportdb.co.uk/report/dbdetails.php?id=1473)
2) When integrating the <a> tag link to launch within PHP code, it fails to work.

Here is my code, and hopefully someone will know what I am doing wrong:


<html>
<head>
<script type="text/javascript"
src="http://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jquery/1.4.1/jquery.min.js"></script>
<script type="text/javascript">
$(document).ready(function() {
//When you click on a link with class of poplight and the href starts with a #
$('a.poplight[href^=#]').click(function() {
var popID = $(this).attr('rel'); //Get Popup Name
var popURL = $(this).attr('href'); //Get Popup href to define size

//Pull Query & Variables from href URL
var query= popURL.split('?');
var dim= query[1].split('&');
var popWidth = dim[0].split('=')[1]; //Gets the first query string value

//Fade in the Popup and add close button
$('#' + popID).fadeIn().css({ 'width': Number( popWidth ) }).prepend('<a href="#" class="close"><img src="/report/images/close.gif" border="0" class="btn_close" title="Close Window" alt="Close" /></a>');

//Define margin for center alignment (vertical horizontal) - we add 80px to the height/width to accomodate for the padding and border width defined in the css
var popMargTop = ($('#' + popID).height() + 80) / 2;
var popMargLeft = ($('#' + popID).width() + 80) / 2;

//Apply Margin to Popup
$('#' + popID).css({
'margin-top' : -popMargTop,
'margin-left' : -popMargLeft
});

//Fade in Background
$('body').append('<div id="fade"></div>'); //Add the fade layer to bottom of the body tag.
$('#fade').css({'filter' : 'alpha(opacity=80)'}).fadeIn(); //Fade in the fade layer - .css({'filter' : 'alpha(opacity=80)'}) is used to fix the IE Bug on fading transparencies

return false;
});

//Close Popups and Fade Layer
$('a.close, #fade').live('click', function() { //When clicking on the close or fade layer...
$('#fade , .popup_block').fadeOut(function() {
$('#fade, a.close').remove(); //fade them both out
});
return false;
});

});
</script>
<style type="text/css">

#fade { /*--Transparent background layer--*/
display: none; /*--hidden by default--*/
background: #000;
position: fixed; left: 0; top: 0;
width: 100%; height: 100%;
opacity: .80;
z-index: 9999;
}
.popup_block{
display: none; /*--hidden by default--*/
background: <? echo $highlightbg; ?>;
padding: 20px;
border: 20px solid #ddd;
float: left;
font-size: 1.2em;
position: fixed;
top: 50%; left: 50%;
z-index: 99999;
/*--CSS3 Box Shadows--*/
-webkit-box-shadow: 0px 0px 20px #000;
-moz-box-shadow: 0px 0px 20px #000;
box-shadow: 0px 0px 20px #000;
/*--CSS3 Rounded Corners--*/
-webkit-border-radius: 10px;
-moz-border-radius: 10px;
border-radius: 10px;
}
img.btn_close {
float: right;
margin: -55px -55px 0 0;
}
/*--Making IE6 Understand Fixed Positioning--*/
*html #fade {
position: absolute;
}
*html .popup_block {
position: absolute;
}

</style>
</head>
</html>

<?php

foreach ($d as $f)
{
echo "{$f[1]}<a href=\"#?w=500\" rel=\"popup_name\" class=\"poplight\"><img src=\"/report/images/tick.gif\" border=\"0\"></a>";

?>

<html>
<div id="popup_name" class="popup_block">
//CONTENT HERE eg. <? echo $f[2]; ?>
//Image does not display in IE but does in firefox
<img src="/report/yes.gif">
</div>
</html>

<?
}
?>

abduraooft
06-18-2010, 11:43 AM
Here is my code, and hopefully someone will know what I am doing wrong:
Can we have a link to your page?

m002.p
06-18-2010, 11:58 AM
Hi!

Thanks for the response.

Link is here.

http://www.clanreportdb.co.uk/report/servers.php

The arrow tick image is what is supposed to launch the modal window.

m002.p
06-19-2010, 04:55 PM
Sorry to double post but I thought it best to inform you that the JS code "close" image does also not work in IE but displays perfectly fine in firefox.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum