...

View Full Version : layout issue in ie but not in ff (float bug)?



apm
05-29-2010, 01:48 AM
Hi' all
first of all I would like to apoligies if some information is missing or im doing something wrong in the post, - and please do correct me if so.

Lately I tried to make a webpage inteded for a gallery. Im quite new to both html and css, and i dare not even think about javascript and php yet. :)

During my work everything looked fine untill I tried to browse the webpage in internet explore. Im thinking that is has something to do with my css and floating properties on my #divs. And to be honest my first impression was quite devastating and I felt helpless - even after googling Im next to clueless of what went wrong.

I uploaded the site in hope of getting a pin pointer or in best case scenario a "fix" for my issue.

The layout shows correctly in firefox as previously stated but internet explore kind of "bug it up"

my site is http://apm-design.dk/galleri_tidl_udstilling.html

If it is the floating property is there any other method i should use?
Clearly there is a lot of validation issues and im trying to fix them as i get better - but im still a very to html and css (about a week)

I truly pray someone can aid me in this horror :(

tinimic
05-29-2010, 05:41 AM
I don't know about your floats, but they're probably OK. There are too many errors in your markup to look into your CSS. Go to http://validator.w3.org/ and validate the page. Make the required corrections to your markup and the IE problems should go away.

Good luck.

apm
05-29-2010, 09:07 PM
Oh what a brilliant way to correct errors :D

thanks for poiting it out. Everything works fine now.


One thing though that i cant quite figure:

Im using an id ="line" multiple places on the same page - the validator says it is an error. should i make a class instead? if so how do i do that :)?

it is basically just a transperrent "line" im putting under multiple objects, which made my design easier for me to do.

Excavator
05-29-2010, 11:58 PM
Hello apm,
Yes, that id that you use multiple times should be a class. Here is a good explanation of the difference between them and how they are used - http://www.tizag.com/cssT/cssid.php



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum