...

View Full Version : Two Problems with my site



bark-bark-boom
05-28-2010, 01:25 AM
Hi. I recently made A SITE (http://boom-comics.webs.com/index.html) with HTML-KIT, and discovered two problems:



1) When I see my site in Internet Explorer, it looks fine
When I see it in Mozilla Firefox, it looks horrible

I want to know how to fix that

2) stylesheets can be used to standarize properties of the divs in the pages I associate them to.
Like my site's getting big, and the number of pages is growing larger everyday, it gets bothersome to have to change something that is common in every page, such as the menu, because I have to do it in every single page.
My question is: is there a code I can put in the stylesheet that instead of just affecting the propierties (text, background, alignment), it affects the content of that div.

As an example:
Inside .HTML page:

<div id="menu">(menu code)</div>

changing the code in every page is too hard, soooo...

Inside .CSS sheet, something like:


#menu {float:left ; background-color: grey ; text-align:center ; CONTENT or TEXT or SOME CODE: (menu code)}


Please tell me if there's a way of doing that, WITHOUT having to use Dreamweaver OR .SSI's

Thanks

optimus203
05-28-2010, 01:41 AM
Sounds like the solution to the website growing would be php.

effpeetee
05-28-2010, 02:41 PM
According tio the W3 validator you have 11 html errors (http://validator.w3.org/check?uri=http%3A%2F%2Fboom-comics.webs.com%2Findex.html&charset=%28detect+automatically%29&doctype=Inline&group=0)and 6 css errors.
(http://jigsaw.w3.org/css-validator/validator?uri=http%3A%2F%2Fboom-comics.webs.com%2Findex.html&profile=css21&usermedium=all&warning=1&lang=en)
Frank

bark-bark-boom
05-28-2010, 10:36 PM
Sounds like the solution to the website growing would be php.
A) I need Dreamweaver to do so, and I don't have it

B)the server i'm currently hosting my site in doesn't allow .PHP, unless I suscribe to the premium service


According tio the W3 validator you have 11 html errors (http://validator.w3.org/check?uri=http%3A%2F%2Fboom-comics.webs.com%2Findex.html&charset=%28detect+automatically%29&doctype=Inline&group=0)and 6 css errors.
(http://jigsaw.w3.org/css-validator/validator?uri=http%3A%2F%2Fboom-comics.webs.com%2Findex.html&profile=css21&usermedium=all&warning=1&lang=en)
Frank

Well holy shoot. that's a lot of errors.

Aparently the problem was in the Stylesheet, because it names all the backgrounds in the errors list. Do you know what does it mean when it says "Value Error : background-image Parse Error middle.gif) "?

Excavator
05-29-2010, 06:01 AM
A) I need Dreamweaver to do so, and I don't have it

B)the server i'm currently hosting my site in doesn't allow .PHP, unless I suscribe to the premium service


You don't really need DW for anything. HTML, CSS, PHP ... can all be written in notepad.
Your host charges for php???? That's not a very good host I'm thinking.

Why are you against SSI? (other than your host charging extra) A php include is the perfect solution here. Is there some other form of server language your host allows?

Look at these examples of menus that highlight the active page. They are all SSI friendly menu's that rely on a body tag to highlight the menu item.

one (http://nopeople.com/CSS/h_ul_menu-with_images/index.html)
two (http://nopeople.com/CSS/h_ul_menu_no_images/index.html)
three (http://nopeople.com/CSS/css%20rollover%20navbar%20with%20single%20image/index.html)

bark-bark-boom
05-29-2010, 03:36 PM
thanks, excavator. it seems that php is my only way out of the second problem, and will probably mean I have to move to another host, but what about the first problem? the Firefox problem?

Excavator
05-30-2010, 07:06 AM
Some problems from your box model (http://www.w3.org/TR/CSS2/box.html) being off.
#content is 799px wide but #menu inside it is 800px wide plus the 13px margins.

#menu, being a full width element, should not be floated. Same with #content. We float elements to put other elements beside them. Since a full width element has no room beside it for another, there is no need for it to be floated.

Is FF choking on the filename for your background image? This seems to work in place of the space in the filename...
#content {
background-color: black ;
width: 799px ;
float:left;
background-image:url(back%20middle.gif)
}

Lots of stuff to fix found by both validators. See the links about validation in my signature line below.


...

bark-bark-boom
05-30-2010, 06:39 PM
Kay. As for the margins and widths, fixed. now the sizes are fixed, and all margins are 5px
Floating menu, Fixed. no float
Spaces in the images' names, fixed. names now without spaces

Will continue to work on the site. thanks

bark-bark-boom
05-30-2010, 07:44 PM
OK. now... I fixed the CSS problems, and now the site works perfectly on Firefox, but the Markup Validation (http://validator.w3.org/check?uri=http%3A%2F%2Fboom-comics.webs.com%2Findex.html&charset=%28detect+automatically%29&doctype=Inline&group=0&user-agent=W3C_Validator%2F1.767#fatal-errors) on my site, now says it can't check the site. why is that?

Excavator
05-30-2010, 11:09 PM
OK. now... I fixed the CSS problems, and now the site works perfectly on Firefox, but the Markup Validation (http://validator.w3.org/check?uri=http%3A%2F%2Fboom-comics.webs.com%2Findex.html&charset=%28detect+automatically%29&doctype=Inline&group=0&user-agent=W3C_Validator%2F1.767#fatal-errors) on my site, now says it can't check the site. why is that?

It seems the validator is freaking out over something in line 11?
Sorry, I am unable to validate this document because on line 11 it contained one or more bytes that I cannot interpret as utf-8 (in other words, the bytes found are not valid values in the specified Character Encoding). Please check both the content of the file and the character encoding indication. What is i�aki?



Site is looking much better - Good work!

bark-bark-boom
05-31-2010, 09:15 AM
fudge. Iņaki is my name. It's spanish. I'll check that.
Fixed. now it reads it. Fixed some problems. 11 Problems and 1 Warning (http://validator.w3.org/check?uri=http%3A%2F%2Fboom-comics.webs.com%2Findex.html&charset=%28detect+automatically%29&doctype=Inline&group=0) that I don't know how to fix still remain. if any of you were nice enough to tell me how to fix each of them, I'll be very thankful

effpeetee
05-31-2010, 11:32 AM
<script type="text/javascript">

This is the answer to one of the errors - line 6

Frank



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum