View Full Version : Divs not showing up in IE 7

lizzy1e
05-26-2010, 11:36 AM
Hi there

I'm brand new to the concept of div tags and css (used to build sites in tables in Dreamweaver back in the day - eek), so please forgive me if I ask silly questions or make mistakes in my coding...

I'm currently trying to create a Joomla template and working on it locally, all my divs show up just fine in Firefox, but in IE7 only a couple are actually there, namely my logo; navigation; background and article... any advice would be greatly appreciated. I realise the site does not follow the standard header/left/right/maincontent/footer layout. Unfortunately, I didn't design it, I just have to build it...

My code is as follows:

<body>
<div id="wrapper">
<div id="header"></div>
<div id="topmenu">
<jdoc:include type="modules" name="top" style="" />
</div>
<div id="left"></div>
<div id="right"></div>
<div id="mainbody">
<div id="content">
<jdoc:include type="component" />
</div>
</div>
<div id="footer"></div>
</div>
</body>
</html>

and the css is:

#wrapper {
background-image: url(../images/bg2.jpg);
background-repeat: no-repeat;
background-position: center bottom;
width:800px;
height:500px;
margin-left:auto;
margin-right:auto;
margin-bottom:0px;
}

#header {
background-image:url(../images/logo.png);
background-repeat: no-repeat;
height:100px;
margin:auto;
margin-top:15px;
}

#topmenu {
width:295px;
height:140px;
float:right;
margin-top:20px;
font:"Times New Roman", Times, serif;
font-size:12px;
}

#footer {
background-image:url(../images/bg_footer.jpg);
height:50px;
margin-left:auto;
margin-top:403px;
clear:both;
}

#left {
background-image:url(../images/what_bg.png);
background-repeat:no-repeat;
width:350px;
height:391px;
margin-left:0px;
margin-top:0px;
float:left;
position:absolute;
top:118px;
}

#right {
background-image:url(../images/we1.gif);
background-repeat:no-repeat;
width:403px;
height:40px;
margin-left:23em;
margin-right:0px;
position:absolute;
top:232px;
}