View Full Version : Looking for a Countdown Timer to reset itself daily at midnight

just cool
03-29-2010, 11:25 PM
I currently have a timer but its in Javascript so it works only on the clients computer time but i need it to work with the server time so that i can set it to a timezone and make sure that it resets itself at midnight EST time no matter what time zone you are in. I was told its better to use PHP for this countdown to work properly but im a very newbie in PHP.

Can someone indicate a script that i can use ..... PLEASE

Fou-Lu
03-30-2010, 12:20 AM
Hmm, lets see if this works:

$iTimeTo = strtotime("00:00 tomorrow");
$iDiffTime = $iTimeTo - time();

printf("Remaining: %s\n", date('H:i:s', $iDiffTime));

That work?
I'm a little curious if the 00:00 is valid with the tomorrow modifier. I believe it is in the GNU but I could be mistaken. If not, we'll find another mktime based solution.

Len Whistler
03-30-2010, 12:46 AM
And here is a code snippet for EST, just put it in your header.php file and all PHP dates will be in EST.

date_default_timezone_set('America/New_York');

----------------

just cool
03-30-2010, 05:43 AM
Hmm, lets see if this works:

That work?
I'm a little curious if the 00:00 is valid with the tomorrow modifier. I believe it is in the GNU but I could be mistaken. If not, we'll find another mktime based solution.
Fou-Lu i did try what you give me but it did not work. Actually i tried it at 10:42 pm EST and when i load a demo page to see the script in action the time was 19:24:54 which is the wrong time and its not counting down as well. It just stays there until i refresh the page. What i want is for the time to keep counting down by the second and it refresh itself at midnight to 23:59:59 and counts down again each day and it must be seen counting down on the webpage.

kbluhm
03-30-2010, 05:50 AM