View Full Version : Registration Form check PostgreSQL is username is already taken

MrEnder
03-23-2010, 02:41 AM
Hey I'm really new to PHP and PostgreSQP or any database in that matter. So I'm at a loss how to do this.

I need an if statement that says.

If(the username user just typed in is already in database) {
my code here
}

the variable the username that the user just typed in is $userNameSignup

how would I do that with PHP for PostgreSQL?

also how might I redirect people to a new page once they have completed the form properly?

Thanks Shelby

MattF
03-23-2010, 02:52 AM
$result = pg_query('SELECT 1 FROM users WHERE LOWER(username)=\''.strtolower(pg_escape_string('.$userNameSignup.')).'\'');

if (!pg_num_rows($result))
{
[The username doesn't exist]
}
else
{
[The username exists]
}

For the redirect:

header('Location: http://example.org/where/to/redirect');

MrEnder
03-23-2010, 03:07 AM
$result = pg_query('SELECT 1 FROM users WHERE LOWER(username)=\''.strtolower(pg_escape_string('.$userNameSignup.')).'\'');

{
[The username doesn't exist]
}
else
{
[The username exists]
}

I'm using

$result = pg_query('SELECT 1 FROM logins WHERE LOWER(userName)=\''.strtolower(pg_escape_string('.$userNameSignup.')).'\'');

if (!pg_num_rows($result)) {

$userNameSignupError = "Username already exists please choose a new one";
$error = true;

}

And thats not working =[

what did I do wrong?

btw

DROP TABLE logins;

CREATE TABLE logins(
userName VARCHAR(25) NOT NULL PRIMARY KEY,
password VARCHAR(25) NOT NULL,
firstName VARCHAR NOT NULL,
lastName VARCHAR NOT NULL,
ageDay INTEGER NOT NULL,
ageMonth INTEGER NOT NULL,
ageYear INTEGER NOT NULL,
email VARCHAR(255) NOT NULL,
createDate DATE
);

does that help?

MattF
03-23-2010, 03:11 AM
what did I do wrong?

You didn't pay proper attention to the code I posted. Check the bracketed comments again.

MrEnder
03-23-2010, 03:18 AM
You didn't pay proper attention to the code I posted. Check the bracketed comments again.