...

View Full Version : Avatar images quality problem



Mido™
02-22-2010, 05:41 PM
I have a problem in the quality of the members avatars pics that they uploaded in the site, I set a specific width and height to the the pic which I got from the database and the quality of it is usually low and more than the orginal pic, are any solution for this?

MattF
02-22-2010, 05:51 PM
I set a specific width and height to the the pic

Is that the actual dimensions of the image or a preset width/height you enforce in the image tag regardless of the true image dimensions?

Mido™
02-22-2010, 10:55 PM
Is that the actual dimensions of the image or a preset width/height you enforce in the image tag regardless of the true image dimensions?

they are a preset width/height I enforce in the image tag regardless of the true image dimensions.
you know the avatars must be in the same width and height, so I must set the width and height, and what I need to know is how to do this and in the same way the quality don't less much as in the forums for example.

MattF
02-22-2010, 11:11 PM
they are a preset width/height I enforce in the image tag regardless of the true image dimensions.

Then it's no wonder they're looking a bit naff.



you know the avatars must be in the same width and height, so I must set the width and height, and what I need to know is how to do this and in the same way the quality don't less much as in the forums for example.

If you want all avatars to meet a strict width/height requirement, resize them on upload. You will knacker animated gif's up by doing so, however. Either that or set a max image/width test on upload so that the user won't be able to upload anything above your preset maximum allowed image size. You can use getimagesize() for checking the dimensions of an image.

Mido™
02-23-2010, 01:29 PM
If you want all avatars to meet a strict width/height requirement, resize them on upload. You will knacker animated gif's up by doing so, however. Either that or set a max image/width test on upload so that the user won't be able to upload anything above your preset maximum allowed image size. You can use getimagesize() for checking the dimensions of an image.


thanks and the function getimagesize() is a good function but it won't help in the quality of the pics, I need a function or filter who could make the pic quality better and more sharpen.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum