...

View Full Version : Selecting an entry in a listbox



trickydicky
02-20-2010, 01:49 PM
I have two listbox's that are dynamically populated from a mysql database. Once a user picks an entry from the first the screen updates asynchronously with items in another listbox that relate to the entry that the user picked. My problem is that on the update although the second listbox is populated the 1st resets. I need to set the 1st listbox as the entry that the user picked, but im not sure how to go about this. Has anyone seen any tutorials that they could point me to, im still relatively new with PHP.

angst
02-20-2010, 03:09 PM
whats a listbox? do you mean a select?

also can you post your code?

abduraooft
02-20-2010, 03:22 PM
Take a look at http://bonrouge.com/~chain_select_js

angst
02-20-2010, 03:34 PM
if thats what your looking for, you would be better off with a jquery & ajax solution:


http://plugins.jquery.com/project/selectchain

trickydicky
02-21-2010, 06:13 PM
Sorry about the listbox reference, Ive come from the evilness of the ASP camp and forgot myself for a moment!!

But abduraooft, thats exactly what i was after, i havent had a chance to work it through yet but ill give it a read through and let you know if it works. If not maybe jQuery will be the way to go.. if i can just get my head around it..



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum