...

View Full Version : Brand new to PHP; having error issues....



traceydixon78
02-10-2010, 07:22 PM
Hi,

I'm brand new to PHP - I'm actually a classroom teacher in a junior high who has a little bit of html/web building knowledge; and thus, ends up doing some webwork here and there for schools in my division.

I'm up against a php/javascript requirement that I don't seem to be able to conquer.

One of the schools I work with, has asked me to set up a system check such as is found here: http://www.adlc.ca/component/option,com_wrapper/Itemid,142/

So, I contacted the webmaster, and was provided with the scripts.

I've made my first attempts at installing it here: http://www.goldenhillslearningacademy.com/system_check/ but I am clearly missing something BIG in the edits I've made to the systemcheck.php file (or I need to make changes in one of the .js files.

Problem is, I don't really know where to start in terms of trying to figure this out.

Any advice that can be offered here will be genuinely appreciated.

:D

masterofollies
02-10-2010, 07:35 PM
You need to post your code so we can help you. :thumbsup:

bdl
02-10-2010, 07:48 PM
Hi Tracey, welcome to the CodingForums community.

I've reviewed both documents and peered "under the hood" so to speak using Firefox and the Firebug extension. If you haven't already, I strongly recommend installing Firefox along with the Firebug and Web Developer extensions if you intend on handling any sort of web development. They're invaluable.

Of the pages you linked, the adlc.ca site has 9 JavaScript source files that are included in the document. Your site has 1 ('mm_css_menu.js', which does not seem to have any related code to the task you're trying to achieve). Clearly, if this is a JavaScript driven task, then you've failed to include the necessary files.

On the other hand, if the 'system check' code is server-side, i.e. PHP driven (which I doubt), then there is something failing on the PHP side.

I'd double check the JavaScript files that are required for the functionality of the 'system check' and ensure you have them included properly in your HTML.

Please note the difference between what PHP handles on the server and what JavaScript / DOM does in the client, i.e. browser. PHP executes and forwards all HTML, JS and related code handles to the user's request. Once the browser receives the requested document, JavaScript / DOM code springs into action within the browser, i.e. "on the client".

traceydixon78
02-10-2010, 09:32 PM
Thanks for the welcome.

I am feeling more than a little "in over my head" at the moment.

The package of files that I was sent (and have uploaded to my server) looks like the attached image.

In the html code of index.html, I have inserted the following:

<td><div align="center"><div class="componentheading">
System Check </div>
<iframe
id="blockrandom"
name="iframe"
src=http://www.goldenhillslearningacademy.com/system_check/systemcheck.php?action=test"
width="100%"
height="625"
scrolling="auto"
align="top"
frameborder="0"
class="wrapper">
This option will not work correctly. Unfortunately, your browser does not support Inline Frames </iframe>

</div>
</div></td>


I don't really know what to do from here......

Do I need to set up a MySQL database on the server?

bdl
02-10-2010, 10:03 PM
Here's your probem:


src=http://www.goldenhillslearningacademy.com/system_check/systemcheck.php?action=test"


You're missing an opening quote for the src attribute. Otherwise it appears to work properly.

traceydixon78
02-10-2010, 10:07 PM
Holeeeeeee crap!! That did it!

do you have any idea how many times I looked at that and missed it?

Thank you thank you thank you!!!

Insert hig hug smiley here!



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum