View Full Version : Help for a php newbie...

01-09-2010, 06:55 AM
I'm working on a beer review site. I need a page that can draw data from my db and input it into an html, but different info for different beer pages. It's similar to facebook's system for profiles. This doesn't include the html it's just , but I am getting the error as follows:

Warning: mysql_fetch_array(): supplied argument is not a valid MySQL result resource ....on line 15

Oh and my DB connect info DOES work, just edited to not reveal info

$con = mysql_connect("********","*******","******"); //connects to DB
if (!$con)
die('COULD NOT CONNECT! ' . mysql_error());

$id = $_GET['id'];

$sql = mysql_query("SELECT * FROM 'beers' WHERE id='$id'");

while($row = mysql_fetch_array($sql)){

$beername = $row['beername'];
$date = $row['date'];
$style = $row['style'];
$brewer = $row['brewer'];

I know this is total newb stuff, but what am I doing wrong? I've looked at other forums with this error but cannot find a problem that fits it. Basically, I am just trying to declare these variables so as to use them later in an html file. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks folks!

01-09-2010, 07:19 AM
It means you have an error in your sql query try removing the single quotes from arround your table name, also mare sure the value you are getting from you get variable is what you're expecting

01-09-2010, 07:44 AM
$sql = mysql_query("SELECT * FROM 'beers' WHERE id='$id'") or die(mysql_error());

It's your responsibility to die(), if necessary!

Deacon Frost
01-09-2010, 12:41 PM
Try something like this:

// Get the ID
$id = $_GET['id'];

// Set connection details.
$db_hostname = "localhost"; // Host (Typically 'localhost')
$db_username = ""; // Username
$db_pass = ""; // Password
$db_name = ""; // Database Name

// This initializes the connection to the database.
$con = mysql_connect($db_hostname, $db_username, $db_pass) or die('Could not connect to mysql server.');

// Connect to the specific database.