...

View Full Version : Mysql Tutorial Help Please



Byronwells
01-08-2010, 02:25 PM
Alright guys

A database has already been created that my membership script is using.. I would like to know how do I go about creating/adding a new table to it, so that the database can work..

I beleive that is correct.. I dont want to add some rows to a persisting table, or do I?

I am using PHPMYADMIN to look at my databases.. I have found the database that my membership script is connected to... But I need help from there

I need step to step help please, in basic english :) :) No major techinical stuff, not yet :) Not until I get use to it :)

bazz
01-08-2010, 04:01 PM
Whether you need to add more columns to a table or a completely new table, depends on what that data is.

You can see the create table statemnents for your existing tables by clicking the 'export' link and in the options section, uncheck 'Data' so that only the structure will be shown when you click 'Go'.

To learn more about databases search for these terms

database normalisation
database optimisation
mysql foreign keys
mysql primary keys
mysql composite keys
mysql table joins


How many tables are there currently?

bazz

Byronwells
01-08-2010, 05:27 PM
Whether you need to add more columns to a table or a completely new table, depends on what that data is.

You can see the create table statemnents for your existing tables by clicking the 'export' link and in the options section, uncheck 'Data' so that only the structure will be shown when you click 'Go'.

To learn more about databases search for these terms

database normalisation
database optimisation
mysql foreign keys
mysql primary keys
mysql composite keys
mysql table joins


How many tables are there currently?

bazz

Alright Bazz

Please check out the following image http://www.digitalresellersvault.com/template/database.bmp I have 37 tables that the membership script is using...

I believe I need to add another table for licence terms.. (That is not include yet in the membership script at all)

My next step when I have created the database, is then to create a drop down menu box displaying the following four options:

Basic
Master
Private
Personal

Then the third step, depending on what option is chosen, displays a certain set of words in a certain place

Old Pedant
01-08-2010, 07:58 PM
I don' think any of us can really answer you without having "hands on" the database.

*Probably* you don't need another table. *Probably* you can get away with just another field in an existing table. But WHICH existing table??? Or maybe it is tables??

I'm *guessing* that at a minimum you would need to add a field to the "orders" table (or maybe better the "order_items" table, except I don't see one there). But you don't even show us the *names* of all 37 tables, much less what fields are in each and how the different tables are related to each other.

I'd want to see an E-R (Entity-Relationship) diagram--or at least description--of the tables and fields before making a "this is it" decision.

You say you want a tutorial, but you aren't trying to do something that is at a beginner level. You need to get to step 2 or 3 in the "course", and you aren't quite to the end of step 1, yet.

Have you even added the <select> dropdown (or set of radio buttons or set of checkboxes) to the <form> yet? So that the user can choose one (or more? is that possible?) of these rights when making an order? I would think that is first thing to do. Then you find where the <form> is processed, storing its contents into an order, and pick up the user's selection and store it into...what? Again, *probably* into a field in smp_orders, but that is so so so a far-out guess that I hesitate to do more than say "maybe maybe".



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum