...

View Full Version : CSS IE hack? I'm stuck.



whatthehey
12-18-2009, 02:36 AM
I have tried quite a few things this past week and nothing has worked.

What I was told would be a "simple update" has turned hellish.
I added a drop-down navigation menu at the top of the page built in css. I don't know a thing about coding. I haven't built anything since geocities existed hah.

Our office only uses IE6 so the quick fix has turned into a long-term issue.
Instead of loading in one straight line it has turned into a block where the nav menu has turned into a nav square. :( it loads great in other browsers but since our office only uses IE6 so once my boss sees this she'll flip!

It might be a simple fix, but I wouldn't know where to begin. I'm a novice and I'm exhausted.
help!
It is built in dreamweaver so I have messed with the template to get this far, but for now I'm lost.



http://florastuart.com
any thoughts?

SB65
12-18-2009, 07:59 AM
Applying a width to ul.cssMenu looks like it fixes IE6 - something like 450px seems to do the trick.

abduraooft
12-18-2009, 08:06 AM
You need to start from the very first line of your document.

<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN"> The above doctype is incomplete, so replace it with complete one. See www.alistapart.com/articles/doctype. I'd recommend
<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01//EN"
"http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/strict.dtd">
Another important point is, you shouldn't use tables for making your layout. Get inspired from http://www.hotdesign.com/seybold/

I'd recommend you to check http://bonrouge.com/2c-hf-fixed.php, which is a good 2 column layout.

After all, your document should not contain any deprecated tags or attributes and it should pass validation by http://validator.w3.org/



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum