View Full Version : Help with Javascript Site-Search Bar

12-10-2009, 02:59 PM
I have a code for creating a search bar to search words on an unpublished site that i am developing. I was wondering where to enter the keywords, can anyone help me? Thanks;

<script language="JavaScript">
<!-- Original by http://javascript.internet.com More javascripts http://www.************** -->

var NS4 = (document.layers); // Which browser?

var IE4 = (document.all);

var win = window; // window to search.

var n = 0; function findInPage(str)

{ var txt, i, found;

if (str == "") return false; // Find next occurence of the given string on the page, wrap around to the
// start of the page if necessary.

if (NS4)
// Look for match starting at the current point. If not found, rewind
// back to the first match.

if (!win.find(str))

while(win.find(str, false, true))

n++; else n++; // If not found in either direction, give message.

if (n == 0) alert("Not found."); }

if (IE4)

{ txt = win.document.body.createTextRange(); // Find the nth match from the top of the page.

for (i = 0; i <= n && (found = txt.findText(str)) != false; i++)

{ txt.moveStart("character", 1);

txt.moveEnd("textedit"); } // If found, mark it and scroll it into view.

if (found)

{ txt.moveStart("character", -1);



txt.scrollIntoView(); n++; } // Otherwise, start over at the top of the page and find first match.

else { if (n > 0) { n = 0; findInPage(str); } // Not found anywhere, give message. else alert("Not found."); } }

return false; }


<form name="search" onSubmit="return findInPage(this.string.value);">

<div align="center" font size=3>

<input name="string" type="text" size=15 onChange="n = 0;">


<input type="submit" value="Search Page">



Philip M
12-10-2009, 04:26 PM
1) IE4 and NS4 have long been one with Nineveh and Tyre. <script language=javascript> is long deprecated and obsolete. In short, this is ancient code.

2) Please help us to help you by following the posting guidelines and wrapping your code in [code] tags. This means use the octothorpe or # button on the toolbar which will insert opening [ code ] and closing [ /code ] tags - omit the spaces. You can (and should) edit your previous post. And also please the remove the blank lines.

12-11-2009, 12:26 PM
ok, thank you

Philip M
12-11-2009, 01:01 PM
Have a look at


12-11-2009, 01:24 PM
brilliant thanks