...

View Full Version : Auto Refreshing a Frame



Drk
12-04-2009, 02:54 AM
Hello,

I'm a moderator for an game site. We have a page on the site that reported posts dump in to for review.

At home, I have a nifty greasemonkey script installed in Firefox that alerts me when a new report is there. At work, however, I'm forced to use IE. So, I figured I'd whip up a little something that would allow me to see new reported posts while browsing the rest of the site all in one browser window.

I've tinkered, looked around the web, and just can't seem to get this to work. An extra set of eyes would be helpful. Here goes:

-------------
index.htm
-------------

<HTML><HEAD><TITLE>Keep focus</TITLE></HEAD>
<FRAMESET ROWS="33%,67%" framespacing=0 border=0 frameborder="no">
<FRAME NAME="up" SRC=report.htm>
<FRAME NAME="down" SRC=main.htm>
</FRAMESET></HTML>

-------------
report.htm
-------------

<html>
<head>
<META HTTP-EQUIV="REFRESH" CONTENT="5; URL=http://goallineblitz.com/game/forum_reported_posts.pl">
</head>
</body>
</html>

-------------
main.htm
-------------

<html>
<head>
</head>
<body>
<a href="http://goallineblitz.com/game/home.pl">GLB</a>
</body>

--------------

I have a link in main.htm because it was trying to make me login in both frames. I'm a bit out of practice, so hoprfully I'm just missing something small and not looking totally foolish here.

Any help appreciated.

oldcrazylegs
12-07-2009, 06:39 AM
here is what i use on my weather page

<meta http-equiv="refresh" content="450, url=weather2.htm" />

gusblake
12-07-2009, 11:17 AM
What about Javascript?



setInterval("document.frames[0].location.reload()", 5000);



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum