...

View Full Version : RESOLVED Need Height of Sidebar to Adjust to Height of Content Wrapper



jihanemo
11-26-2009, 05:11 PM
The #content div on my help page extends past the sidebar. This extended the #contentwrapper div but the height of the sidebar (contained within the contentwrapper) did not extend as well. And the sidebar has a right border which I need to extend all the way to the bottom of the contentwrapper div. How can I get the sidebar to automatically adjust and match the overall height of the contentwrapper? I really need that border on the sidebar to stretch all the way down...

http://americanchic.net/help.html

And Happy Thanksgiving, everyone! I'm addicted to re-designing my website - I'm helping cook and re-designing at the same time.

Excavator
11-26-2009, 05:20 PM
Goodmorning jihanemo,

Right now, #content's border-left: 1px solid #999; goes the full height of the page. Is that not the affect you're looking for?

Another method would be the faux columns approach. (http://nopeople.com/CSS/faux_columns/index.html)

jihanemo
11-26-2009, 05:29 PM
Thanks for replying. I removed that styling. Sorry about that - I just uploaded the page again - you'll see that the right border on the sidebar gets cut off. The method of putting a border on the left side of the #content div would work except that it seems a div height on my website expands it's height according the content it contains. I guess what I'm really looking to do is set the SIDEBAR and CONTENT divs so that their height adjusts to the overall height of the #contentwrapper container... confusing.

http://americanchic.net/help.html

jihanemo
11-26-2009, 05:33 PM
Oh, I read the "faux columns demo" :confused: That's a bit confusing for me. My brain is so foggy now. I think I get the overall idea but it seems a bit much to add to my page at this point...

I thought that setting the heights of the sidebar and content divs to 100% would cause the sidebar and content div heights to automatically adjust to the height of their container (#contentwrapper) ... but maybe that only works if I set the a specific height to the contentwrapper... ?

jihanemo
11-27-2009, 10:22 PM
Thanks for the info. :)



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum