...

View Full Version : Is it Possible to Link PHP and SQL code within a From?



whammond
04-15-2003, 04:28 AM
I am a very new user of PHP utilizing its parameters to communicate with an Access Database to my front end GUI. On certain events (mainly clicking submit buttons), I would like particular SQL (queries) executed to populate particular fields on the Front end to ultimately update fields within the back-end tables. Is this a capability of PHP?

I hope this makes since to you all. If there is any more clarification needed for responses, please let me know.


Many Thanks in advance.

ASAAKI
04-15-2003, 11:54 PM
PHP can do pretty much anything u want in relation to the database. so, yep, it can do that.
sorry though, can't tell u how because i've hardly ever worked with Access, only MySql and Oracle.
:)

Spookster
04-16-2003, 12:04 AM
Originally posted by whammond
I am a very new user of PHP utilizing its parameters to communicate with an Access Database to my front end GUI. On certain events (mainly clicking submit buttons), I would like particular SQL (queries) executed to populate particular fields on the Front end to ultimately update fields within the back-end tables. Is this a capability of PHP?

I hope this makes since to you all. If there is any more clarification needed for responses, please let me know.


Many Thanks in advance.

You can create dynamic queries if that is what you are referring to. It's just a matter of writing the code necessary to receive the data from the form and then either select a predefined query to run or generate a query on the fly.

whammond
04-16-2003, 11:41 PM
So, in essence, given particular events, like clicking buttons, I can relate predefined queries to particula forms ?

Spookster
04-16-2003, 11:45 PM
Originally posted by whammond
So, in essence, given particular events, like clicking buttons, I can relate predefined queries to particula forms ?

Yes



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum