...

View Full Version : Data in huge variable won't all display with Netscape 7.0



peterinwa
04-12-2003, 07:01 PM
Yes, I thought to post this on a browser forum. But it always ends up being an error in my JS coding, so...

I search through a list of foods and then use HTML/JS/Frames to display the search results on a page. It works fine with IE and Netscape 4. But with N 7.0 the list truncates if it is too large. I get no error messages.

At first I wondered if there might be a limit to how large a variable can be, but if I insert an alert(variableName.length) it's all there in all three browsers. It just doesn't all display with N 7.0.

For example, the alert might indicate 69,000. With IE and N 4 it all displays on the page; with N 7.0 the alphabetical list just stops in the Cs. With a smaller list, like 28,000, it works well in all three browsers.

You can see it at:

www.eatwellandexercise.com/cph/index_food.html

Search for ".. " or period period space. (The two periods add extra data for me to see checking my work; the space finds every item with a space in it which would be every item.)

Any ideas?

Thanks, Peter

Graeme Hackston
04-12-2003, 08:24 PM
It happened to me in Moz 1.3

If the string length is right then I'd guess it's an HTML or CSS rendering issue, overlaping elements, improper nesting, missing or incomplete tags etc.

peterinwa
04-12-2003, 08:29 PM
Thanks. Self-taught and probably guilty of most of those. Still seems funny that it only happens with large variables. Don't see why the logic would change.

Actually, come to think of it, it almost seems as if it's going ahead and displaying the page before the search is complete. But it can't be that because the variable.lenght indicates the full list... a complete search. It's just the page display that's incomplete.

Anyway, I don't worry too much about Netscape users. Thanks.

Graeme Hackston
04-12-2003, 08:39 PM
True the containing HTML is all the same so it souldn't be tags or nesting. It could be that the larger sized container is some how being clipped.

In my experience errors in Moz 1x (haven't used NN7) are always caused by my incorrect coding. Not being concerned with NN visitors is fine, code that doesn't work in the browsers could lead to compounded problems in the future.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum