View Full Version : Creating a certain size popup w/out JS

04-12-2003, 02:43 AM
Hi! I have my page set up so when you click on the splash page, a new window launches that is a certain size. I did this link in dreamweaver so its using java script to open it. My problem is, I have other links within that pop up window that are also supposed to popup a certain size window. When I use the same js in dreamweaver for those links, it puts them in the same window and I actually wanted to pop them up on top of it. Is there another way to do this? I really dont like using dreamweaver hehe :p

Thanks in advance for any help! :D

04-12-2003, 04:50 AM
Post your code with details :p

04-12-2003, 07:05 AM
Hi! This is the code on my splash page:

<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN">
<title>Matchbox 20</title>
<style type="text/css">BODY {background: url("htmlbg.jpg") top right no-repeat}</style>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1">
<meta name="keywords" content="matchbox 20">
<meta name="author" content="Julie King">

<script language="JavaScript" type="text/JavaScript">
function MM_openBrWindow(theURL,winName,features) { //v2.0

<body bgcolor="B6D0D6" leftmargin="0" topmargin="0" marginwidth="0" marginheight="0">
<div align="center">
<p align="right"><a href="javascript:;" onClick="MM_openBrWindow('flash.html','flash','width=688,height=335')"><img src="name.gif" width="220" height="66" border="0"></a></p>
<p><a href="javascript:;" onClick="MM_openBrWindow('flash.html','flash','width=688,height=335')"><img src="fullsizecover.jpg" width="339" height="332" border="0" valign="middle"></a>

The window that is opens is an html file containing a swf. Theres a dynamic text file inside the swf which uses the same kind of JS t pop up a new window but the problem Im having is either it opens in the same window instead of on top or just nothing happens.

04-12-2003, 07:59 AM
My guess is that since you named your pop-up window "frame" and your flash animation is opening in it, your flash probably is targeting a window with name "frame" as well. Try changing around the target...or perhaps just chage the name of your original pop-up and see if that works.

04-12-2003, 08:06 AM
I made sure to name them differently. The name of the window with the SWF in it is "flash" and the other ones Im trying to open in a window called "popup". I thought of the same thing you did but no luck :(