...

View Full Version : Calling variables



j05hr
11-05-2009, 02:24 PM
I want to call this to my website but it doesn't display what I want it to,



<h5>Edit Subject: <?php echo $sel_subject['menu_name']; ?></h5>

If I change the $sel_subject to $sel_page it works, but both are using the exact same names in the database and have exactly the same code in my functions.php

Can anyone help?

functions.php


function get_subject_by_id($subject_id) {
global $connection;
$query = "SELECT * ";
$query .= "FROM subjects ";
$query .= "WHERE id=" . $subject_id ." ";
$query .= "LIMIT 1";
$result_set = mysql_query($query, $connection);
confirm_query($result_set);
// REMEMBER:
// if no rows are returned, fetch_array will return false
if ($subject = mysql_fetch_array($result_set)) {
return $subject;
} else {
return NULL;
}
}

function get_page_by_id($page_id) {
global $connection;
$query = "SELECT * ";
$query .= "FROM pages ";
$query .= "WHERE subject_id=" . $page_id ." ";
$query .= "LIMIT 1";
$result_set = mysql_query($query, $connection);
confirm_query($result_set);
// REMEMBER:
// if no rows are returned, fetch_array will return false
if ($page = mysql_fetch_array($result_set)) {
return $page;
} else {
return NULL;
}
}

function find_selected_page () {
global $sel_subject;
global $sel_page;
if (isset($_GET['subj'])) {
$sel_subject = get_subject_by_id($_GET['subject']);
$sel_page = NULL;
} elseif (isset($_GET['page'])) {
$sel_subject = NULL;
$sel_page = get_page_by_id($_GET['page']);
} else {
$sel_subject = NULL;
$sel_page = NULL;
}
}


function navigation($sel_subject = null, $sel_page = null) {
$subject_set = get_all_subjects();
// 5. Use returned data
while ($subject = mysql_fetch_array($subject_set)) {

echo "<div class=\"menu-name\">"; echo "<a href=\"edit_subject.php?page=" . urlencode($subject["id"]) .
"\">{$subject["menu_name"]}</a>"; echo"</div>";
echo "<div class=\"buying-text\">"; echo "{$subject["content"]}"; echo"</div>";

echo "<div class=\"image\">"; echo"</div>";

}
}


Thanks,
Josh

shadowmaniac
11-05-2009, 05:23 PM
What do you mean by "doesn't display what I want it to"?
Is it:
i) returning some data but not the data you want or
ii) not returning anything at all?

tomws
11-05-2009, 05:35 PM
I want to call this to my website but it doesn't display what I want it to,


I was about to complain that your statement doesn't make any sense, and it still doesn't, but I think I see your problem. In find_selected_page():


if (isset($_GET['subj'])) {
$sel_subject = get_subject_by_id($_GET['subject']);

You're using a different array index in the GET vars.

j05hr
11-05-2009, 05:41 PM
Sorry that wasn't a very good explanation, I meant it doesn't display the content from the database. I solved it now, the problem was in the function navigation the url was edit_subject.php?page when it should be edit_subject.php?subj



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum