...

View Full Version : Trouble getting the footer in the right place



Ottens
11-02-2009, 05:41 PM
I'm having some trouble getting the footer of my forums (http://www.ottens.co.uk/lounge/index.php) where I want it to be.

Here's my stylesheet: http://www.ottens.co.uk/lounge/style/Gatehouse.css

I've tried setting a "relative" or "absolute" position on the footer class, but that puts the footer right below the header, on top of the container ("page"). Right now, it's actually behind the "page", in the same place. I can't set a definite top-margin on it, because the pages are always of a different height...

Can anyone help?

SB65
11-02-2009, 06:08 PM
Remove position:absolute from your .primary and .secondary divs. Position;absolute will take the element completely out of the flow of the document, so the footer will start immediately after the header, as it does now.

Excavator
11-02-2009, 06:09 PM
Hello Ottens,
A lot of times, just adding clear:both; will cure footer problems like you're describing.
Your site still has the same problem as your last post... I hit refresh a couple times and it didn't go away anyway. You should update the online version.

Ottens
11-02-2009, 06:54 PM
I have a "clear" underneath the "page" container already, but that doesn't solve the problem.

You mean the sidebar still isn't working properly? I used NetRenderer to see how it looks in IE, and it looks all right there...


Anyway, removing the "position:absolute" from the primary and secondary DIVs works, except not in IE6 -- that is, according to NetRenderer again.

Excavator
11-02-2009, 07:12 PM
You mean the sidebar still isn't working properly? I used NetRenderer to see how it looks in IE, and it looks all right there...




Here's a screen cap. That's firefox on the left and IE8 on the right.
http://nopeople.com/webfiles/Clipboard01.jpg

Ottens
11-02-2009, 07:20 PM
Why, this is strange. I just checked in Firefox and IE8 (using NetRenderer for the latter) and it looks fine in both...

Excavator
11-02-2009, 09:01 PM
Why, this is strange. I just checked in Firefox and IE8 (using NetRenderer for the latter) and it looks fine in both...

Yup, looks good here now too. Must have been a cache thing on my end? I don't know.
The footer looks to be in the right place too...

Ottens
11-02-2009, 09:11 PM
Well, good then. Thanks for your help, again, and thanks to SB65 too!



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum