...

View Full Version : IE versus FF



siggy
11-01-2009, 10:43 PM
RE: http://users.accesscomm.ca/kendemchuk/test/education_tmp.html

in IE there are lines, in FF there are not. Why


I was trying to display a text window, on hover.
maybe there is a better way in CSS ??

Jazz914
11-01-2009, 10:57 PM
1 - Are they lines or are they spaces?
IE has a tendancy to have different measurements, I don't know why, used to happen to me, doesn't anymore, maybe an update I don't know xD

2 - You might want to check out the hover on the center orb in IE, it goes over the edge and text can't be seen.

3 - next insert this at the top of your css:

* {
borders: none;
padding: 0;
margin: 0;
} This way if it is borders they will be removed.

4 - if they are spaces, fiddle around with margins, heights, sometimes even recoding that section is the best way to go but constantly check for changes in the browsers, eventually it will become as a standard so you won't need to keep checking and comparing.

This way, if you start off with no lines but at some point they turned up you know what caused it and we will have more to go by to help out.

bazz
11-01-2009, 11:25 PM
better to use



* {
border:0;
padding:0;
margin:0;
}

:p


Also, validate your page at http://validator.w3.org/check?verbose=1&uri=http%3A%2F%2Fusers.accesscomm.ca%2Fkendemchuk%2Ftest%2Feducation_tmp.html 16 errors.
and what are all the 'empty divs for?
you shouldn't need all those spacer gifs in your table - very 1999. The need for them should laregly go, when you add the css snippet to your css.



welcome to CF. I only just realised it was your first post.
bazz

Jazz914
11-02-2009, 02:07 AM
better to use



* {
border:0;
padding:0;
margin:0;
}

:p


Also, validate your page at http://validator.w3.org/check?verbose=1&uri=http%3A%2F%2Fusers.accesscomm.ca%2Fkendemchuk%2Ftest%2Feducation_tmp.html 16 errors.


Lool, Kind of Ironic how you ended that post "Validation" XD...

@Bazz
Its actually better to use border: none; LOL, do you use the CSS validator? :P "border: 0;" is invalid.

siggy
I just checked out the code, and that portion of the code where it is coded in tables, looks like it has been generated by a program such as photoshop or fireworks built in html creator, if it is I strongly advise I against this.

Plus coding layouts in tables is bad anyway.

Also, welcome to the site :D

siggy
11-02-2009, 03:14 AM
spacer-gifs gone
border= none added
no css errors

still does not look right


I used a table to display the rollover text - cause it displayed nicely

if there is a nice snippet of code out there, (to do this)
please point me...

oesxyl
11-02-2009, 11:32 AM
spacer-gifs gone
border= none added
no css errors

still does not look right


I used a table to display the rollover text - cause it displayed nicely

if there is a nice snippet of code out there, (to do this)
please point me...
each browser have a default style therefor is a good idea to add a "global reset" as bazz show you in his post. There you can "reset" anything is different in browsers not only the margin, padding and border.
Be aware that anything you put inside will slow down the load of the page since is applyed for each element in the page, so avoid to put there what you don't really need.

best regards

SB65
11-02-2009, 11:37 AM
Well, you've got quite a lot of gaps in FF3 as well as IE.

There are two reasons for these gaps:

Some are caused by the default top and bottom margins on <p> tags applied by FF. Applying:


td p{margin:0}

should sort these out. Or apply a global reset as bazz suggested.

The others are spaces underneath images, which result because <img> is an inline element, and in strict mode the browser allows space for the "tails" of g/y etc. Sort this by setting <img> elements as block elements via:


img{display:block}

Incidentally, border:0 is valid, border:none is valid, borders:none isn't.

Jazz914
11-02-2009, 12:20 PM
Well, you've got quite a lot of gaps in FF3 as well as IE.

Incidentally, border:0 is valid, border:none is valid, borders:none isn't.

Its perfectly fine in my FF3 O.o

EDIT: We are both wrong where the border thing comes in xP(Strike through text here)
Mis read your post, I don't know where you got "borders" from though xD

border: none; AND border: 0; are both valid, I put just "border:0;" into the validator instead of something like

* {
border : 0;
border : none;
}

Both are valid! Nvm my rubbish earlier xD

SB65
11-02-2009, 01:23 PM
See attachment for screenshot in FF3.0. Same in Chrome 3, Opera 9 and Safari 4.


I don't know where you got "borders" from though xD

Typo in your post #2.

Jazz914
11-02-2009, 01:37 PM
My bad, I thought you meant the latest firefox (3.5.4).

SB65
11-02-2009, 02:07 PM
Looks the same for me in that as well.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum