...

View Full Version : need help in pagination



doforumda
10-18-2009, 09:07 AM
hi i create a pagination and its code is down below

<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/loose.dtd">
<html>
<head>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=utf-8">
<title>Untitled Document</title>
</head>

<body>
<?php
mysql_connect("localhost");
mysql_select_db("test");

$per_page = 5;
$start = $_GET['start'];

$record_count = mysql_num_rows(mysql_query("select * from data"));

$max_pages = $record_count/$per_page;

if(!$start)
$start = 0;

$get = mysql_query("select * from data limit $start, $per_page");
while($row=mysql_fetch_assoc($get))
{
$name = $row['name'];
$age = $row['age'];

echo $name." (".$age.")<br>";
}
$prev = $start - $per_page;
$next = $start + $per_page;

if(!($start<=0))
echo "<a href='pagination.php?start=$prev'>Prev</a> ";

$i=1;

for($x=0;$x<$record_count;$x=$x+$per_page)
{
if($start!=$x)
echo " <a href='pagination.php?start=$x'>$i</a> ";
else
echo " <a href='pagination.php?start=$x'><b>$i</b></a> ";
$i++;
}

if(!($start>=$record_count-$per_page))
echo " <a href='pagination.php?start=$next'>Next</a>";
?>
</body>
</html>

problem in this code is when i load this page first time then it displays this error

Notice: Undefined index: start in D:\wamp\www\examples\pagination.php on line 14

but when i click next or prev buttons then it works fine.
how this can be solved?

seco
10-18-2009, 10:14 AM
try using POST rather than GET

from

$start = $_GET['start'];
to

$start = $_POST['start'];

doforumda
10-18-2009, 11:03 AM
still not working
still the same error

FWDrew
10-18-2009, 11:15 AM
try using POST rather than GET

from

$start = $_GET['start'];
to

$start = $_POST['start'];

Why would you do this when paginating? You can forget bookmarking any URL if you do it with a post request for every page. A GET request is absolutely what is needed.

Try changing this:


$start = $_GET['start'];


To this:


$start = (isset($_GET['start']) ? $_GET['start'] : 0);

mark88
10-18-2009, 11:56 AM
have you tried to check the code in your index code???

is there any page you were using??? maybe the error was in that page that's why it shows this notice of error

doforumda
10-18-2009, 01:11 PM
thanks to all of you.

its working now. especially thanks to FWDrew your reply was the correct



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum