...

View Full Version : Counting lines of scource code



IamHe
10-16-2009, 02:54 PM
Hi, just wondering, is there a way in which a script can count the lines of your scource code.

for example if i had a page


where i could put
<BEGIN COUNT>
blah blah blah
<END COUNT>

so for example that would tell me there is 1 line.

reason im asking is Ive made a layout with 2 collums , a main box on the left, and a right pannel.

but the problem im having , is if the content on each page of the right box isnt as long as the left, it ends up in diffrent places up and down the page, and i dont want to use frames or anything, so i dont know any other way of fixing this, other than matching the content on each side.

so my idea was if i could some how count the lines on the left and say like

if less than 40 add the diffrence.

in <br>'s


get what i mean?

hope i havent confused every one:)

thanks

LIAM

met
10-16-2009, 03:12 PM
you would have to redesign your layout to accomodate varying levels of content.

doing what you are suggesting is considerably more complicated and would not really be feasible

abduraooft
10-16-2009, 03:39 PM
so my idea was if i could some how count the lines on the left and say like

if less than 40 add the diffrence.

in <br>'s


get what i mean? Yeah, but not good. Take a look at www.alistapart.com/articles/fauxcolumns/ (or http://www.dynamicdrive.com/style/blog/entry/css-equal-columns-height-script/)

IamHe
10-16-2009, 05:31 PM
Thanks for all your help :)

have read the links you have provided and came up with another soloution.

thanks allot :D

Liam

bazz
10-16-2009, 05:47 PM
Liam, if you like you can post what code you have so far. It sounds to me like the structure of your page should be simple - in order to do what (I think) you are aiming for.

bazz



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum