...

View Full Version : Show actual password with Sha1



SlayerACC
10-14-2009, 07:09 PM
Hey all.

I was wondering how to show a password in it's true text in a textbox using Sha1 encryption and also how to resave it after to the database in Sha1.??

Thanks

Slayer.

CFMaBiSmAd
10-14-2009, 07:36 PM
sha1 (and md5) are one way hashes/checksums. They are not encryption, so it is not possible to decrypt them.

SlayerACC
10-14-2009, 07:51 PM
Thanks for that info...

is there an easy was to change the current password with a script.??

the issue is I have created a login script using MD5 now instead of SHa1 and would like the ability to change the password instead of seeing the current as you say that it is not able to do so.??

any help with the script would be greatfull.

Thanks,


Slayer.

wldrumstcs
10-14-2009, 08:42 PM
What I might recommend doing is when a user types in a password and you md5 hash it and check it against the stored database value. If the two are equal then sha1 the typed in password and store that in the database. Just a thought.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum