...

View Full Version : geocoding????



smarble53
10-14-2009, 01:17 AM
a client is having me build a site for his business. the site requires a user to be able to enter his address. the address locater will pull up the closest court in the district/precinct. it sounds easy and all, but court boundaries are weird and screwed up and they always seem to cut across zip codes and everything like that. would there be a way to tell the program the boundaries?

i've been googling for a few days now, and i havent found anything. maybe i have, but i havent realized it...

i dont know if im not being specific enough or if im confusing every one.

thanks for your help.

mlseim
10-14-2009, 01:47 AM
Where are you located?

Are you trying to find the closest court based on zipcode?
I wonder if there might be some free database that has all of the zipcodes and gps.

Also, how many are there? Maybe knowing a quantity might change the answer.

smarble53
10-14-2009, 02:03 AM
i would do it based on zip codes, but a lot of the time, zip codes are split up by the boundaries...

eventually it will be nation-wide, but i could do it little by little...it doesnt all have to be done, but right now, we need maricopa county, az

something like this:
https://recorder.maricopa.gov/pollingplace/getdistrict.aspx

mlseim
10-14-2009, 02:26 AM
Do you have an existing map showing the boundaries, like a map on paper?

If so, somehow get that map online so I can see it ...
I'm wondering how complicated the lines are and their positions.

smarble53
10-14-2009, 04:00 AM
http://www.a2zcomputerworks.com/maps/jcmar.html

mlseim
10-14-2009, 04:50 AM
Oh man ... that's ugly.
It will be really hard to do using GPS coordinates.

The only other thing I can think of is getting a hold of a database
with all of the residential addresses in your county ... a copy of that
database would allow someone to enter a district code for each one.
An extremely time-consuming adventure, but that information could
be valuable to someone (maybe sell an API to access that data).

smarble53
10-14-2009, 05:23 AM
thank you.

so there is no way to create shapes using coordinates or something like that? like go into google earth and draw shapes on the map? if i could get the coordinates, how would i go about doing this?

smarble53
10-14-2009, 05:25 AM
or what would i have to google to figure it out? i cant seem to google it. haha

mlseim
10-14-2009, 03:53 PM
It's more than just shapes.
You have a situation where the line might divide one side of a street from another.
Neighbors across from each other vote at a different precinct, or would end up in a different district, etc.

Your database would need to be address specific.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum