...

View Full Version : I need a script that...



thickandthin
04-06-2003, 07:40 PM
Prints another page when you click Print

x_goose_x
04-06-2003, 08:38 PM
<link rel=alternate media=print href="printversion.doc">

IE only I believe.

missing-score
04-06-2003, 08:49 PM
A thread that popped up not long ago.

http://www.codingforums.com/showthread.php?threadid=17724&goto=newpost

That might help.

bazz
04-07-2003, 12:53 AM
Originally posted by x_goose_x
<link rel=alternate media=print href="printversion.doc">

IE only I believe.

I should have read the DD page properly. I thought it was cross browser.

Tell me this please though. In NS4,5 and 6, what happens if you have used thois script? Does the print button do nothing or does it just still print the page as viewed in the browser? (i have yet to install NS6 after a big crash).

thanx

missing-score
04-07-2003, 08:51 AM
It will print the page defined in the href part.

Not a button. The page will try to print automatically. Did you look at the other thread? we were discussing it there.

bazz
04-07-2003, 02:36 PM
Yup, I read it missing-score. :)

I havent seen an answer to my needs though. I am wanting to pront out - not just a button - but a web page with or without its graphics. The problem is that the normal print function only prints out the viewable part of the page. I have used external .css files with the overflow of the text set to scroll. The normal print function misses out all the text that is not visible in the window, so I was looking for a script which got around this. The IE only one does it in one way and as we know, it doesnt work in NS. I just wondered how the print function works in NS if the 'printversion.doc' script is used.

Does it
a, not print at all
b, print the same as if printversion.doc script wasn't used
c, do something else?

thanx

missing-score
04-07-2003, 06:02 PM
Does it? I thought it printed the entire page. Oh well.

I will try and dig up some more info to help you. Ill post back soon.

missing-score
04-07-2003, 06:08 PM
Do you need it to print automatically?

If you dont, you could make another stylesheet something like:



image {
display: none;
}


and so on for all the tags you dont want, and then have javascript write a new styleset. I think this would work, but I am getting a bit rusty on javascript cos I do alot of PHP :)

Choopernickel
04-08-2003, 04:24 PM
Originally posted by missing-score
If you dont, you could make another stylesheet something like:



image {
display: none;
}


and so on for all the tags you dont want, and then have javascript write a new styleset.

Actually, what would be MUCH easier is creating a stylesheet for the print media only:

<link rel="stylesheet" href="print.css" media="print" />

missing-score
04-08-2003, 05:37 PM
ooops. Missed that one. Yeah, that would work.

Nice one! :thumbsup:



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum