View Full Version : how to set up a testing server?

09-20-2009, 10:53 PM
I'm not certain if this is the correct forum - I hope you can help!

I'm trying to figure out how to set up a testing server...I don't know what I need to know to do this. What steps should I take? I use Dreamweaver 8, if that makes a difference...

Thank you for any advice you can give!

09-20-2009, 11:01 PM

download, install, run, connect with dw, make sites.

09-20-2009, 11:47 PM
Thank you! I'm very new to this and don't know how to set it up using Dreamweaver. I went to site/new site/testing server...then what? Can you (or anyone else) advise on this?

09-21-2009, 01:27 AM
new site >

local info > give it a foldername

local root folder > C:\wamp\www\foldername

http address > http://localhost/foldername


remote info >

access > local network

make the folder the same as the local root folder


testing server >

server model > php.mysql

access > local network

testing server folder > same as the others

url prefix > http://localhost/foldername

09-21-2009, 02:04 AM
Thank you! I appreciate you walking me through this! Thank you!

09-21-2009, 02:08 AM
have fun, you can do Live View in DW if your doign server side stuff so you dont have to open a browser too.

09-26-2009, 07:55 PM
The only problem is that he forgot how to show you how to do the passwords for the server.

09-27-2009, 09:10 PM
Yes, passwords would be helpful - how do I set them up?

09-27-2009, 10:24 PM
its a testing server. not a pubic server. no need.

09-28-2009, 12:38 AM
oh! Of course! Thank you!

09-30-2009, 08:58 PM
Thank you for the help you've provided so far...

Ok, I'm trying to follow the instructions above...under new site>>>testing server folder> url prefix I am putting exactly as stated above: http://localhost/foldername (where my foldername is the name I've given to the site in DW). When I hit the 'test url' button I get the following error:

Dreamweaver cannot use the prefix you entered to display live data. Please double-check your site configuration to correct this problem. (HTTP error:12031)

I'm using the same foldername that I've given in the local root folder section and http address section. Any ideas on what I'm doing wrong?

Thank you.