...

View Full Version : how to set up a testing server?



Gabby7
09-20-2009, 10:53 PM
Hello+
I'm not certain if this is the correct forum - I hope you can help!

I'm trying to figure out how to set up a testing server...I don't know what I need to know to do this. What steps should I take? I use Dreamweaver 8, if that makes a difference...

Thank you for any advice you can give!

seco
09-20-2009, 11:01 PM
http://www.wampserver.com/en/index.php

download, install, run, connect with dw, make sites.

Gabby7
09-20-2009, 11:47 PM
Thank you! I'm very new to this and don't know how to set it up using Dreamweaver. I went to site/new site/testing server...then what? Can you (or anyone else) advise on this?

seco
09-21-2009, 01:27 AM
new site >

local info > give it a foldername

local root folder > C:\wamp\www\foldername

http address > http://localhost/foldername

next

remote info >

access > local network

make the folder the same as the local root folder

next

testing server >

server model > php.mysql

access > local network

testing server folder > same as the others

url prefix > http://localhost/foldername

Gabby7
09-21-2009, 02:04 AM
Thank you! I appreciate you walking me through this! Thank you!

seco
09-21-2009, 02:08 AM
have fun, you can do Live View in DW if your doign server side stuff so you dont have to open a browser too.

nysmenu
09-26-2009, 07:55 PM
The only problem is that he forgot how to show you how to do the passwords for the server.

Gabby7
09-27-2009, 09:10 PM
Yes, passwords would be helpful - how do I set them up?

seco
09-27-2009, 10:24 PM
its a testing server. not a pubic server. no need.

Gabby7
09-28-2009, 12:38 AM
oh! Of course! Thank you!

Gabby7
09-30-2009, 08:58 PM
Thank you for the help you've provided so far...

Ok, I'm trying to follow the instructions above...under new site>>>testing server folder> url prefix I am putting exactly as stated above: http://localhost/foldername (where my foldername is the name I've given to the site in DW). When I hit the 'test url' button I get the following error:

Dreamweaver cannot use the prefix you entered to display live data. Please double-check your site configuration to correct this problem. (HTTP error:12031)

I'm using the same foldername that I've given in the local root folder section and http address section. Any ideas on what I'm doing wrong?

Thank you.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum