View Full Version : I'm having trouble opening IDLE (Python GUI)- why?

09-20-2009, 02:51 PM
Python is a well known computer programming language, and yet when I installed the latest version, I went to start>all programs>python 2.6.2>IDLE (Python GUI), and it loaded, but nothing showed up on my screen. Why is this?
It repaired, changed files, reinstalled, (I haven't restarted yet) and it still won't work.

I downloaded it from the official website download page (http://www.python.org/download/), and it installed properly. The command line operates fine, as well as the manual and all other side downloads. Only IDLE doesn't work correctly. While surfing the net I read it may be because of spacing in the directory? (C:\Python26)?

Any help is appreciated- thank you!

09-20-2009, 03:31 PM
Do you have a firewall?

Personal firewall software may warn about the connection IDLE makes to its subprocess using this computer's internal loopback interface. This connection is not visible on any external interface and no data is sent to or received from the Internet.

09-20-2009, 04:12 PM
Yes I have a firewall, however if I am using something it is blocking, it asks me if I want to unblock it. I would click "unblock". However, this is not the case. It is really strange and annoying, as command line is only good to an extent.

09-20-2009, 05:09 PM
Please help me someone!

09-20-2009, 07:53 PM
You said you installed Python 2.6.2. Did you have a previous Python version/installation on your computer? Like a 2.5 IDLE?