...

View Full Version : I made a dynamic radio button, but nothing happens when I click on it!



ConfusedOfLife
04-04-2003, 11:15 PM
Hi,

Look at this script please:



<script>
rdButt = document.createElement("input");
rdButt.type = "radio";
rdButt.name = "nothin";
document.body.appendChild(rdButt);
</script>


I don't know what's wrong with it. I can see the radio button after running this script, but when I click on it, it doesn't get selected. I also tried to append it to a form ( I know that in NS a radio button should be inside a form or it doesn't function as you expect! ), but nothing changed.

Thanks in advance

beetle
04-05-2003, 12:21 AM
Looks like a problem with IE. Works fine for me in Mozilla 1.2 and Opera 7

Sorry, I don't know why. Maybe I'll crawl around MSDN a bit later and look.

beetle
04-05-2003, 12:29 AM
Hmmmm

According to this page (http://msdn.microsoft.com/workshop/author/dhtml/reference/methods/createelement.asp) the solution is as follows

rdButt = document.createElement( '<input type="radio" name="nothin" />' );

Stupid. I hope this is a bug and/or poor implementation and not the intended way of doing things, as it DOES NOT work in the other browsers.

Looks like you'll need an IE-test conditional for now :rolleyes:

ConfusedOfLife
04-05-2003, 11:30 AM
Thank you beetle, you are a jewel in here!

Well, I even tested that in NS7 and didn't work either. It looks stupid, yes, but thanks God that my program isn't fully dependent on it! So, I can simply forget about it for now! And it's so crappy if it can not update the elements array, think we should forget about dynamic radio buttons!



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum