...

View Full Version : how do i prevent a page from being included in a search engine results?



LJackson
09-14-2009, 01:35 PM
Hi all,

i have a page which updates my db but it is currently appearing within googles search results which means people can run my script and update my db if they view this page :(

how do i prevent it from showing up in the search results???

thanks
Luke

Fisher
09-14-2009, 02:09 PM
You can use a robots.txt file to block access to the page.

If the problem is google specific, you can sign up for google webmaster tools. You'll find a section under crawler access that allows you to remove URLs from showing.

abduraooft
09-14-2009, 02:21 PM
i have a page which updates my db but it is currently appearing within googles search results which means people can run my script and update my db if they view this page Have you linked that page anywhere in your site? Anyway, you must add some protection to your page, if it's not indented for public users to access.

LJackson
09-14-2009, 04:04 PM
hi guys, thanks for your replys :)

@Fisher - im not sure if it is google specific, but im signed up to google webmasters, i'll have a look into removing urls from showing, how do i create a robot.txt file to block access to it? thanks.

@abduraooft - i haven't linked to the page anywhere on my site, what sort of protection are we talking about?

thanks guys
Luke

VIPStephan
09-14-2009, 05:58 PM
Luke, do a search for “robots.txt”. Ah well, it takes more time to write this here than to search for helpful articles about it but here you go: http://robotstxt.org/

As to protection we’re talking about either a password protection (htaccess?) or some function in the server side script that is checking whether the script is called from some other page or directly in the browser or whatever (I’m not well versed in this). At least it must not be directly accessible from typing its URL into the browser’s address bar (then it won’t be searchable anyway).

LJackson
09-14-2009, 06:06 PM
ah ok thanks mate.

shakir
09-15-2009, 10:48 AM
Instead of using robot.txt better use

<meta name="robots" content="noindex"> for all

<meta name="googlebot" content="noindex"> for Google only

VIPStephan
09-15-2009, 04:10 PM
And why is this better, if I may ask?



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum