...

View Full Version : Site shows white lines in IE



lashley
09-06-2009, 10:14 AM
Hi,

About my website http://www.seobooklets.com

Do you have some clue why in Internet Explorer (I use IE8) the site shows white horizontal lines like screenshot here: http://content.screencast.com/users/KarlSultana/folders/Jing/media/533a40b2-856d-4f1d-acba-2c04c99d3f49/2009-09-06_1059.png

They disappear then once you scroll down or up... sometimes there are a lot of them. That page (homepage) is one plain page it just has a popover box that loads after couple seconds - code for that is:

<script type="text/javascript" src="http://forms.aweber.com/form/73/567473.js"></script>

I did not add any other scripts etc...

Thanks,
Karl

abduraooft
09-07-2009, 07:10 AM
Do you have some clue why in Internet Explorer (I use IE8) the site shows white horizontal lines like screenshot here: http://content.screencast.com/users/...09-06_1059.png Don't you know why using tables for layout is so bad (http://www.hotdesign.com/seybold/)?

Anyway, it might be that "mysterious gap (https://developer.mozilla.org/en/Images,_Tables,_and_Mysterious_Gaps)"!

lashley
09-07-2009, 07:55 AM
I don't understand in those links anything...

lashley
09-07-2009, 11:32 AM
This is not a site I designed, a designer did it for me.

So to fix this is complicated? I can't do it myself, it's not something quick and requires knowledge of tables etc I assume right?

Me little clue of tables and that...

Karl

mlseim
09-07-2009, 04:22 PM
Lashey,

It will require a complete make-over, but not too severe.

It can be done without tables, and the extreme amount of white-space
should also be removed. That white-space is probably what is causing
the lines with IE. I don't see the lines with my IE8.0.6001 version.

Here's the deal though. It's a money-making site about SEO.
You'll have to hire a programmer to redo it for you, since you don't
know too much about XHTML/CSS. Since it's a business, you can hire
someone and charge the expenses to your business.

I can only speak for myself, that I won't spend hours on this (for free) on site that
is selling something to make money ... you have the means to pay for work,
so you can afford to get freelance programming help.

You can also have the programmer set it up so you can change the text
yourself with a simple admin login, online ... you would not need to know
anything about HTML. That is fairly easy to program, and would allow you
to change any content/spelling errors, and prices on your items and services.

lashley
09-08-2009, 08:54 AM
OK, thanks that's good to know.

Even though about programmer setting up a login for me to edit website I did not understand why the need for that. I use NVU on my other websites and I don't have problems with it, even though it's also a free website editor.

So I know how to edit websites with website editor.

Thanks,
Karl



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum