...

View Full Version : What technology is used here?



alex57
07-29-2009, 09:02 AM
Hello,

I want to create a textbox with the functionality seen at the national rail website: http://www.nationalrail.co.uk. When you search for a station you can see that when you start typing a station name a drop down appears which has values which containing the letters you have entered.

What technology is used here please?

Many thanks.

abduraooft
07-29-2009, 09:50 AM
Check http://www.brandspankingnew.net/archive/2006/08/ajax_auto-suggest_auto-complete.html
(search for Ajax+auto suggest)

mioot
08-04-2009, 05:56 PM
They are using Ajax for this , It will post the data to the server in the back end and get the results with out page reloads.

budgitek
08-04-2009, 08:15 PM
Hello,

I want to create a textbox with the functionality seen at the national rail website: http://www.nationalrail.co.uk. When you search for a station you can see that when you start typing a station name a drop down appears which has values which containing the letters you have entered.

What technology is used here please?

Many thanks.


You can use the Jquery Javascript library to handle this. There's many plugins you can explore.

http://bassistance.de/jquery-plugins/jquery-plugin-autocomplete/

hosterpledge
08-05-2009, 06:36 PM
Its Asynchronous Java & XML

You can try these helpful links:

http://www.dynamicajax.com/fr/AJAX_Examples_Suggest-.html
http://woork.blogspot.com/2009/02/useful-ajax-auto-suggest-scripts.html

williamssara88
08-07-2009, 06:26 AM
You can also use php for that. it take more time to develop a java code.

alex57
08-14-2009, 01:25 PM
hello,

thanks for all the suggestions. They are all good options. I have tried a couple for what I am trying to do but is what I really need is for an autocomplete box which when you select from the drop down not only does it bring through the value you clicked but also some other values too.

For instance I could have a file the autocomplete is reading from with a list of data like this:

"australia, 9, 8 ,0"
"albania 8, 7 ,8"

the autocomplete would bring through the whole string but I would rather have:

"australia"
"albania"

and have the numbers brought through too but transparently to the user. Is this achievable????

Thanks.

pad
08-19-2009, 01:10 PM
Its AJAX which is a combination of Advanced Javascript and XML.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum