...

View Full Version : best free cms for site that's already built



alexmel7
07-20-2009, 06:46 PM
Hey everyone, I have a site I've already built and I want to install a nice free cms system so someone else can manage the site easily (pretty much just editing content). I tried installing Joomla, but I don't see a way to easily recreate or import my already existing pages. Any good, free cms systems out there for this?

Fumigator
07-20-2009, 06:59 PM
Sounds like you want it to be magic...?

Any conversion is going to take some work.

alexmel7
07-20-2009, 07:17 PM
Well, I've used CushyCMS (http://www.cushycms.com/), which I really liked except it screws up tables when someone tries to edit them.

VIPStephan
07-21-2009, 11:42 AM
Hey everyone, I have a site I've already built and I want to install a nice free cms system so someone else can manage the site easily (pretty much just editing content). I tried installing Joomla, but I don't see a way to easily recreate or import my already existing pages. Any good, free cms systems out there for this?

You always have to do some (more or less) minor modifications in your code because you need to change your pages from static HTML to dynamic content management. I can recommend CMS Made Simple (http://cmsmadesimple.org) where you just have to copy and paste your template HTML and replace a few snippets with Smarty tags to indicate where the content goes (i. e. where one can change the content).

For example if you currently have a static page looking ike this:


<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Strict//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-strict.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml" xml:lang="en" lang="en">
<head>
<title>here goes the website title</title>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=utf-8" />
<meta name="description" content="blabla" />
<meta name="keywords" content="text here" />
</head>
<body>
<div id="container">
<div id="header">this is the header code</div>
<hr />
<div id="content">here comes the content</div>
<hr />
<div id="footer">and footer is here</div>
</div>
</body>
</html>


If you want to make your content editable remove the static code you currently have and replace it with the respective Smarty tag:


<div id="content">here comes the content</div>
.
.
.
<div id="content">{content}</div>

Then if you create a new page whatever you put into the editor will appear in that spot where you put the Smarty tag.

This is just the most basic way, there are a few more thing you can (but don’t have to) change to make them dynamic and editable from the CMS admin area.

alexmel7
07-21-2009, 03:54 PM
Thanks VIPStephan, that looks interesting. I'll check it out.

extokas
07-22-2009, 12:02 PM
Looks quite interesting, need to test it :))
Thanks a lot :)



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum