...

View Full Version : Want a "splash" page I made to show up as "Coming Soon" until my site is ready



dfkkry
07-07-2009, 06:22 PM
I have a Wordpress blog that I hooked up through GoDaddy.com.

Currently I am still working on the layout, theme, etc, so I haven't really gotten anywhere. However, I have created a static page that has my logo and a "stay tuned" message. I created an image, saved it to Photobucket (couldn't think of anything else to do at the time), put that link into the html and uploaded it onto the server thing. I want this page to be the only one that users can see when they access the site- no links, nothing but the image and "coming soon". The only way I could figure out how to do this was to go into my main folder (root folder? I don't know all the terminology yet) and change the code in the "index.php" to show the "Stay Tuned" picture I created. I made a backup of the original index.php so that I could put it back to the way it was once my site is up and running.

The only problem is, I can't work with Wordpress and edit/test layouts like this. Is there any way I can make a static BLANK page (no links, no hint of a blog layout, just my jpeg) through Wordpress without having to change the index.php?

The main problem is that I can't edit and preview my blog layout like I normally would. I want to do editing behind the scenes with one simple page as a cover until I'm through. Does anyone have an idea of what I'm talking about :)

Thanks!

As a side note- I am pretty beginner with HTML stuff, so please explain as simply as possible. Any links to tutorials, etc would also be appreciated. :thumbsup:

mlseim
07-07-2009, 06:28 PM
Try this ...

Make a splash page called "index.html" ...
<html>
<body>
<img src="splash.jpg">
</body>
</html>

Save it as "index.html" and upload into the same
root directory as your WP "index.php" file is located.

I believe the .html will take precedence over the .php

At least it's worth a shot.

You can then access WP by specifying "index.php" manually.

jamesicus
07-07-2009, 07:27 PM
I believe the .html will take precedence over the .php ..........
Yes, here is the hierarchy:
index.html
index.htm
index.php

I use index.htm for my main Home page and index.php for my subsiduary (in my sig block).

James

oracleguy
07-07-2009, 07:40 PM
Yes, here is the hierarchy:
index.html
index.htm
index.php

I use index.htm for my main Home page and index.php for my subsiduary (in my sig block).

James

Technically that is up to however the server was configured. Generally, yes the .htm or html will take first precedence but it isn't a hard and fast rule.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum