...

View Full Version : Getting Error notification but no errors in Error Compiler



MTWK
06-10-2009, 04:28 AM
Flash cs3 on Vista computer - Using Actionscript 3.0.

When clicking the check syntax in Actions panel.
I am getting a message that "This scripts contains errors. The errors encountered are listed in the Compiler Errors panel." But there's nothing in the panel.

The script was working fine before I added a mask but stopped working after I added it.. Not sure even where to look as even when I publish the movie I'm not getting any error message to point me in the right direction. Anybody know if there is some way to have Flash tell me where the error is?



The weird thing is if I create a new flash document and just put stop(); in the action panel, I'm getting the same message.

gnomeontherun
06-10-2009, 10:51 AM
Could you post the code? No error message just means that the error is likely a mixup of AS2 and AS3.

MTWK
06-10-2009, 02:48 PM
Here's the code:
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

//This sets up the link to the page from the Order Now button
order_button_btn.addEventListener(MouseEvent.CLICK,orderNow);




function orderNow(evt:Object):void {
var url:String = "http://www.flashyusbdrives.com/Custom-Shape-3D-USB-Flash-Drives-Order-Now-s/102. htm";
var request:URLRequest = new URLRequest(url);
try {
navigateToURL(request, '_self');
} catch (e:Error) {
trace("Error occurred!");
}
}




/* this triggers the two movie clips to TALK to one another as they enter specific frames */


this.addEventListener(Event.ENTER_FRAME, sectionOne);



//triggers strawberry to start fading in but stops at top truck
function sectionOne(evt:Event):void {
if (words_mc.currentLabel == "imagineIt") {
this.removeEventListener(Event.ENTER_FRAME, sectionOne);
examples_mc.gotoAndPlay("strawberry");
this.addEventListener(Event.ENTER_FRAME, sectionTwo);
}
}



//triggers experienced words to fade in
function sectionTwo(evt:Event):void {
if (examples_mc.currentLabel == "truck") {
this.removeEventListener(Event.ENTER_FRAME, sectionTwo);
words_mc.gotoAndPlay("experienced");
this.addEventListener(Event.ENTER_FRAME, sectionThree);
}
}



//triggers examples to go to pizza and stop then trigger fadeout
function sectionThree(evt:Event):void {
if (words_mc.currentLabel == "fadeoutOpeningWords") {
this.removeEventListener(Event.ENTER_FRAME, sectionThree);
examples_mc.gotoAndPlay("truckIn");
this.addEventListener(Event.ENTER_FRAME, sectionFour);
}
}



//stops examples at pizza and displays final words
function sectionFour(evt:Event):void {
if (examples_mc.currentLabel == "pizzaHold") {
this.removeEventListener(Event.ENTER_FRAME, sectionFour);
words_mc.gotoAndPlay("finalWords");
this.addEventListener(Event.ENTER_FRAME, sectionFive);
}
}



//triggers display of bottle
function sectionFive(evt:Event):void {
if (words_mc.currentLabel == "finalImage") {
this.removeEventListener(Event.ENTER_FRAME, sectionFive);
examples_mc.gotoAndPlay("bottlePlay");
}
}



1) Also, I have created a new fla. Tried to copy just one movie clip from the original fla to the new one. The minute I copied the mc to the new one fla ,l I started getting the same error message in the new fla.

2) I create a blank fla. Put a stop(); in the actions panel. Do a check syntax, that's fine. Save the file. Do a check syntax, get the "there are errors" message.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum