...

View Full Version : JS error message when leaving code.



effpeetee
05-31-2009, 03:52 PM
This code works OK but sometimes gives an error message at line 17, 1

Is there something small wrong with the code - missing brackets or the like.
I know very little of JS.

Any help welcomed. No problems if it is not easy to find.

Frank



/*

highlight v3

Highlights arbitrary terms.

<http://johannburkard.de/blog/programming/javascript/highlight-javascript-text-higlighting-jquery-plugin.html>

MIT license.

Johann Burkard
<http://johannburkard.de>
<mailto:jb@eaio.com>

*/

jQuery.fn.highlight = function(pat) {
function innerHighlight(node, pat) {
var skip = 0;
if (node.nodeType == 3) {
var pos = node.data.toUpperCase().indexOf(pat);
if (pos >= 0) {
var spannode = document.createElement('span');
spannode.className = 'highlight';
var middlebit = node.splitText(pos);
var endbit = middlebit.splitText(pat.length);
var middleclone = middlebit.cloneNode(true);
spannode.appendChild(middleclone);
middlebit.parentNode.replaceChild(spannode, middlebit);
skip = 1;
}
}
else if (node.nodeType == 1 && node.childNodes && !/(script|style)/i.test(node.tagName)) {
for (var i = 0; i < node.childNodes.length; ++i) {
i += innerHighlight(node.childNodes[i], pat);
}
}
return skip;
}
return this.each(function() {
innerHighlight(this, pat.toUpperCase());
});
};

jQuery.fn.removeHighlight = function() {
return this.find("span.highlight").each(function() {
this.parentNode.firstChild.nodeName;
with (this.parentNode) {
replaceChild(this.firstChild, this);
normalize();
}
}).end();
};

venegal
05-31-2009, 04:09 PM
17, 1, that's the very first thing in your code, so I'd suppose it sometimes generating an error can only mean jQuery has not been properly loaded.

Are you including jQuery from an external site that might be unreliable?

effpeetee
05-31-2009, 07:23 PM
17, 1, that's the very first thing in your code, so I'd suppose it sometimes generating an error can only mean jQuery has not been properly loaded.

Are you including jQuery from an external site that might be unreliable?
No, it is in my sites root directory with all the rest.


/* - for jqueryhighlight.js

highlight v3

Highlights arbitrary terms.

<http://johannburkard.de/blog/programming/javascript/highlight-javascript-text-higlighting-jquery-plugin.html>

MIT license.

Johann Burkard
<http://johannburkard.de>
<mailto:jb@eaio.com>

*/

jQuery.fn.highlight = function(pat) {
function innerHighlight(node, pat) {
var skip = 0;
if (node.nodeType == 3) {
var pos = node.data.toUpperCase().indexOf(pat);
if (pos >= 0) {
var spannode = document.createElement('span');
spannode.className = 'highlight';
var middlebit = node.splitText(pos);
var endbit = middlebit.splitText(pat.length);
var middleclone = middlebit.cloneNode(true);
spannode.appendChild(middleclone);
middlebit.parentNode.replaceChild(spannode, middlebit);
skip = 1;
}
}
else if (node.nodeType == 1 && node.childNodes && !/(script|style)/i.test(node.tagName)) {
for (var i = 0; i < node.childNodes.length; ++i) {
i += innerHighlight(node.childNodes[i], pat);
}
}
return skip;
}
return this.each(function() {
innerHighlight(this, pat.toUpperCase());
});
};

jQuery.fn.removeHighlight = function() {
return this.find("span.highlight").each(function() {
this.parentNode.firstChild.nodeName;
with (this.parentNode) {
replaceChild(this.firstChild, this);
normalize();
}
}).end();
};


Frank

jmrker
06-01-2009, 01:23 AM
I think 'venegal' is asking where are you loading the 'jquery.js' external file?

effpeetee
06-01-2009, 10:15 AM
The program is working fine now. I am not certain why.
I started from scratch and re-assembled it. Obviously something subtle.

Here it is to check. (http://exitfegs.co.uk/Sources.html)

Frank



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum