...

View Full Version : Pulling my hair out! - IE issues



hwoodfilm
05-22-2009, 02:03 AM
Help!!!
How can i get this page to work in firefox, safari AND IE?
IE's different interpretation of my code has been killing me. and different versions of ie have been doing different things.
I dont care if i have to use a different approach to the code, like changing the size of the photos, or giving the photos percentages instead of pixel sizes, or using differrent margin commands, etc.

just want it to work in different versions of IE and firefox, safari.
www.bhdc90210.com/staffbhdc.html

i trie3d using the 'loose' code in the first line at top. ends up screwing up firefox and safari.

Thanks.
David

drhowarddrfine
05-22-2009, 02:10 AM
The right arrow on the doctype is on the second line but I don't know if that's causing any issues or not.
Your doctype is incorrect, too.

<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01//EN"
"http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/strict.dtd">

In your css you have two closing brackets }}

hwoodfilm
05-22-2009, 03:23 AM
know for sure that having arrow on next line is not the issue (changed it anyway).

Also, took out extra '}' that was in the code. im not on a pc right now so i cant check this, but i dont think that that is issue either. it would be great if it were the issue.

strict line at top looks to be a big step in the right direction. thanks. one thing i notice in ie is that the photos have a blue outline around them now. since it is a link im assuming. any way to remove the border?

drhowarddrfine
05-22-2009, 05:08 AM
Fix these html errors (http://validator.w3.org/check?uri=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.bhdc90210.com%2Fstaffbhdc.html&charset=(detect+automatically)&doctype=Inline&group=0) first.

_Aerospace_Eng_
05-22-2009, 08:24 AM
Add

a img {
border:0;
}
to your stylesheet. Also what exactly is IE doing wrong that Firefox and the other browsers aren't? I checked the site in IE6 and the only issue I see is the navigation button on the right is dropping to the next line. This is likely due to the IE double margin bug. Add display:inline; to the styles for a.small and a.large.

Another thing is that you are using tables for layout. I suggest you read the link in my sig titled "Why Tables for Layout is Stupid?".

Also the site looks amateurish. The graphic looks like it was done in paint, it is blurry and has a lot of artifacts. For a company that is supposed to make people look good, I think the site should look good as well.

hwoodfilm
05-23-2009, 09:26 AM
thanks for the first suggestion about the display inline code.

i dont need the second comment about the site being amateur. that is useless to me. yes, i am not a master coder. thats why i am on the forum. the graphic looks fine in safari and firefox, so if you have any useful suggestions as to how to get the graphic to translate nicely on IE then let me know. done in paint? no. done in adobe illustrator, yes. the same illustrator i use to create hi-rez artwork for my dvd titles.

maybe the look of the site is exactly what the client wants, not what the programmer thinks looks good. if thats the case then is it still amateur?



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum