...

View Full Version : Site not showing up from my computer?



brit67chick
05-15-2009, 04:45 PM
I have just started a website about reactive hypoglycemia (http://www.reactivehypoglycemia.info) using Wordpress. It's puzzling, because the last couple of days it will only load sporadically on my laptop. And yet, when I use my husband's computer, it loads fine. I am using both IE and Firefox and it will not load for either of them. Any ideas? Thanks!

_Aerospace_Eng_
05-15-2009, 06:59 PM
It loads fine for me as well. The only thing I can think of is you have a firewall that is blocking the site or you have an entry in your hosts file that doesn't allow traffic to your site.

http://labnol.blogspot.com/2004/10/tweak-your-windows-hosts-file.html

Check your firewall first. Look into the hosts file as a last resort as its unlikely your site would just appear their randomly.

brit67chick
05-18-2009, 04:48 PM
Seems the hosts file was the problem. I installed IE8, which I'm assuming overwrote whatever it was on the hosts file causing the problem. Thanks!!



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum